cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stuck BT profile

simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Stuck BT profile

Hi,
I seeem to be having the opposite problem of a stuck PN profile.
My BT profile has never changed from 6500 since I have been changed to ADSL2+ at the end of Feb.( I think it was always at this level even before)
PN upped their end to 12000 last week but still no change to the BT profile.
I've left the router (DG834GT - DGTeam) on - connected over 130 hours now.
I sync at over 17000 with an apparently reliable connection.
Should I wait longer (does the BT profiler take an Easter holiday?)  - should I re-boot the router?
Thanks for your help
13 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Stuck BT profile

Hi SimonR,
I suspect this is a new order that's recently completed as the latest update is from the 5th and refreshed the 6500 profile - did the order to move you onto ADSL2 recently? If so I suspect that's the reason and it should uplift soon.
simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Re: Stuck BT profile

Thanks for the reply,
The Plusnet profile updated on the 1st to 12000, but why would the BT profile stick at 6500 when it was updated on the 5th?
I haven't disconnected since the 1st
I was moved to ADSL2+ (after a lot of problems- both PN and BT side it seemed) about the end of Feb, and I've tried to stay connected since then.
Any idea how long I should wait before re-booting or trying anything else?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Stuck BT profile

Well the BT side of things is only showing that one update since the move to ADSL2 so that must be the training period. You could try reconnecting once a day (between 10am and 3pm is best for sync speed) - this should enable the exchange kit to record more initial sync speeds and therefore speed the profile update along.
Hope that helps,
simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Re: Stuck BT profile

I've re-booted and the sync speed stayed roughly the same as did the BT profile.
As expected I suppose, I'll wait another 24 hrs and re-boot again.
Thanks for your help .
simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Re: Stuck BT profile

I've just been reading the article on DLM  ( http://community.plus.net/library/broadband/dynamic-line-management-dlm-on-adsl2/ )
How can this apply to the settings on my line?
I've only ever seen a profile of 6500 (even in the month before ADSL2+), so where does the reaction speed improvements come in?
Maybe they haven't changed the DLM method at my exchange?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Stuck BT profile

Aha! Found it. It looks like the order to move you to the up to 20Mb service was only closed off at about 5am this morning. The work will have been done earlier (hence the higher sync speeds) but now the order has completed your profile should update shortly. I'm sorry I missed that yesterday.
simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Re: Stuck BT profile

Hi,
Thanks for getting back.
This sounds good - thanks for your help, I'll let you know here when the speed goes up.
Thanks again,
Simon
simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Re: Stuck BT profile

Hi,
I was hoping things might have changed, but I've seen no change at all to the BT IP Profile reported on speedtest.
It remains stuck at 6500.
I thought it was supposed to automatically re-train after 72 hours.
Is there any way of checking this?
Thanks.
simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Re: Stuck BT profile

I have been reading up on some of the links from other posts, I've found this one ( http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/IPprofile.htm ) to be especially good at explaining the workings of the BT IP Profile.
I cannot understand why my profile is stuck at 6500.
It doesn't matter whether I drop the connection or stay connected for days, the BT IP Profile stays the same.
Is there any method of contacting BT directly about this, or anything at all that Plusnet can do?
I have been trying to get on ADSL2+ since February without success.
My Plusnet speedtest results haven't changed since last year!
Can anyone help? .....please....
simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Re: Stuck BT profile

This problem seems to be going nowhere.
It's now over 2 weeks since I raised a ticket with PN to investigate my stuck BT IP Profile.
So far nothing has changed.
The BT speedtest gives:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 6867 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 600-7150 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :17264 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 1205 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 6500 Kbps
The throughput of Best Efforts (BE) classes achieved during the test is - 18.1:20.55:61.35 (SBE:NBETongueBE)
My router stats are:
System Up Time 128:11:32
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts    Collisions Tx B/s  Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 8809636 12003831            0        5317    2395  128:10:22
LAN 10M/100M 7476253 6622546                0        2334    5525  128:11:28
WLAN 11M/54M 17946615 16015871            0        5094    4725  128:11:22
ADSL Link        Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 17265 kbps  1205 kbps
Line Attenuation  26.5 db          13.4 db
Noise Margin    3.6 db          6.0 db
Up to now nobody has explained why the IP Profile has remained at 6500 when the Connection Rate is at 17265
How long does it take to change?
The profile has been stuck at this rate since at least the beginning of February.

I've had no reply to the ticket raised since last Friday - is this normal?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,996
Thanks: 771
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Stuck BT profile

Hi there,
Sorry about the delay. I've picked your ticket up and raised a fault with our supplier. In the meantime, try rebooting your modem or router each day during the morning.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

simonR
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 28-03-2010

Re: Stuck BT profile

OK,
Thanks for the reply.
I've been keeping the connection on for as long as possible  before. Should I just re-boot or is a longer disconnection better?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Stuck BT profile

I've passed the fault back to our suppliers' diagnostics team along with notes advising of what's going on (this was on a phone call to them so should get things sorted). We'll let you know as soon as there's any more information.