cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Streaming Issues

WTF
Grafter
Posts: 673
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-09-2012

Streaming Issues

Since switching to the unlimited plan, I'm having lots of problems with streaming: it will run for maybe 10 minutes before stopping and refusing to continue until I close down whatever app I'm using and re-start.  The issue has happened with various apps (e.g. ITV player, LoveFILM) and on various devices (brand new Samsung smart TV, iPad and Windows laptop) and at various times of day, including over the week-end.
Is this usual?  According to the page on service shaping, streaming is supposed to be second highest priority but it is barely useable.
Is there anything I can check or need to do before reporting this as an issue?
Thanks for your help.
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

Hi
Are you on FTTC or ADSL?
What kind of speeds do you get (can you run the speedtest.net test and post the result)?
WTF
Grafter
Posts: 673
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

Assuming FTTC is fibre, then I'm on ADSL.  I'm not actually at home so can't run the test right now, but i believe the down speed is around 5mbps on a line rated as upto 8mbps.  Can't recall the up speed ..
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

It could be speed related, although it's a little odd that you've encountered the problem since moving to unlimited. 5Mb should be fine for SD, but it's getting borderline for HD. This is assuming no one else is doing anything else on your connection (e.g. two people trying to watch HD at the same time could be problematic).
In terms of the traffic shaping, streaming should not have changed from your previous package. So I doubt it has anything to do with that.
If you could post your router stats when you get home, that would be useful. Are you also connected to the master socket? It's worth checking the basics to see if you can maximise your ADSL speed.
WTF
Grafter
Posts: 673
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

The LoveFILM stuff was HD but I'm pretty sure the ITV stuff was SD.
Please could you let me know how I access the router stats and whether there's anything I should be looking for in them?
The router isn't on the 'master' socket (well, first one in the house) as when it is, the signal doesn't reach the kitchen where we use it most.  I will try moving the router though - if it fixes the issue with streaming, I guess I can look into getting some kind of booster/range extender.
Thanks for your help.
WTF
Grafter
Posts: 673
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

UPDATE: Just found where to get the router stats ..
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

Another thing worth considering is fibre (if it's available in your area), particularly if you use online streaming a fair bit. Broadband speed requirements for streaming seem to increase quicker than broadband speeds do.
Internal telephone wiring can cause issues with ADSL - especially if it's not done properly. It's worth comparing the speeds/router stats between the master socket and your extension socket.
By the way, did you change routers when upgrading to unlimited? Are you using the Technicolor TG582N?
WTF
Grafter
Posts: 673
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

We have the same router which is the Technicolor TG582N (at least: it looks like the picture that comes up when I google that).
I don't think fibre's available in my area.  Just tried checking on the PlusNet site but if I provide a phone number it takes me to my account details (no help) and if I don't, it errors Roll eyes
We haven't done much streaming in the past as we only had a 60GB allowance, however we were kinda hoping to do some now we upgraded to unlimited - even went out and paid a fortune for a smart TV.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,690
Thanks: 1,617
Fixes: 123
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Streaming Issues

Did you try your phone number in here http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

If you put your number (or address) in here http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/ it should show whether you can get fibre or an ETC.
The Technicolor router has a pretty weak WiFi performance. At the moment, I would look to see if you are losing any speed to due using your ADSL on an extension socket.
WTF
Grafter
Posts: 673
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

Thanks for the links - just tried and apparently we may be getting fibre next year ..
Didn't realise there were issues with WiFi on the Technicolour - it's way better than the router we had with TalkTalk.  Though I guess that may not be saying much ..
I'm definitely going to move the router tonight, see if that helps.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

Hi WTF,
Your connection is at 14Mb/s although your profile was set slightly higher than that so I've tweaked your profile to match that as that could potentially cause an issue if you're maxing your download out.
Looking at your connectivity, are you turning your router off?
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13842502846251.png"/>
It's also probably worth uncapping your upload on your account.


WTF
Grafter
Posts: 673
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

Thanks for taking a look, Chris.
You're absolutely right about the speed - I ran some checks last night and realised I was completely wrong as they all came in around 13.3mbps - and that I have been turning off the router at night - attempting to do my bit for global warming.  I will leave it on from now on, though as I read that for some bizarre reason the network management s/w can't deal with this  Shocked
I also raised a call about my streaming issue: it occurred to me that my account might still have a limited plan profile.  The switchover to unlimited did not go smoothly: first, it didn't happen at all then the billing was messed up for two months (finally sorted last week).  I would not be at all surprised if the load management profile hadn't been updated either.
Thanks for the suggestion about requesting the removal of the upload cap: I've just sent a question to the support team.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Streaming Issues

Hi WTF,
Looks like that completed this morning for you? Hope it's made a difference, please let us know.
WTF
Grafter
Posts: 673
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: Streaming Issues

Thanks, Matt - I'll take a look when I get home.