cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Static IP hostname

GrahamClark
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 14-05-2013

Static IP hostname

Hi,
I've got a PlusNet static IP address but when I do a shields up test I get:
Your Internet connection's IP address is uniquely associated with the following "machine name":  remote.magnumltd.co.uk
Am I to presume that the ip's you issue out of your pool are not checked against dns as having a non-referral and that this was the last company to use that address?
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,232
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 2
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: Static IP hostname

If you contact customer support they will change it for you to something totally anonymous.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Static IP hostname

We've changed the rDNS to (yourIP).plus.com this will take a few hours to update for you.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,232
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 2
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: Static IP hostname

Quote
We've changed the rDNS to (yourIP).plus.com

That's what I meant to say but I didn't know the correct phrasing! Undecided
GrahamClark
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 14-05-2013

Re: Static IP hostname

I have a ticket open for this but as of 17:00 11/6/13 (myip address).plus.com isn't showing and the old PTR record is still in force. I'll check again tomorrow to see if it has propagated.
EDIT: Now OK. Thanks