cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

domejunky
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

Recently moved house - struggling to get more than 50mbps at the new address

15 REPLIES 15
jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,977
Thanks: 5,426
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@domejunky What does https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL say for your phone number/address? Obscure personal details in the pasted result.

John
domejunky
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@jab1  - Thanks for the response. I attached the result from that link to my previous post...

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,977
Thanks: 5,426
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

Sorry, didn't spot that. What does a current speed test from BTW Performance Tester  say? Your BTw report does look a bit dismal, given the anticipated speed on there. What is is your PN profile - although that is a bit suspect these days?

John
domejunky
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@jab1 About what I'm seeing day-to-day - what is a PN Profile?

 

diagnostics.png

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,977
Thanks: 5,426
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

Thanks - that confirms the original report. Which router/Hub are you using? If it is one of the PN Hubs, can you post the data from the page obtained from the relevant guide below?

For the Hub One -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Troubleshooting > Helpdesk

For the Hub Two -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Advanced Settings > Technical Log > Information

Ignore the 'PN profile request'

John
domejunky
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@jab1 It's a Hub Two, came with me from my previous address

 

technical_log.png

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,977
Thanks: 5,426
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

Are you on FTTC or Full Fibre - that looks a bit odd?

John
domejunky
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@jab1 FTTC - The irony is my old address got Full Fibre just as we left - this place isn't even scheduled

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,977
Thanks: 5,426
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@domejunky OK. That makes me suspicious, as some information is missing and some of it is wrong. Sorry to keep asking for information, but as a Community member, I can only go on what I can see. can you post your Broadband page (as screenshot below (but obscure personal details)?

3.Hub2 broadband.png

John
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,527
Thanks: 1,140
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@domejunky 

Are you connecting the Hub Two using a DSL cable directly to the Openreach Master socket or to something else?

 

domejunky
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@jab1 broadband_advanced.png

domejunky
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@Dan_the_Van I have an Openreach Modem between the Hub Two and the wall socket - as supplied by Plusnet - do I not need this anymore?

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,977
Thanks: 5,426
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

@domejunky Get rid of the Openreach modem - there is one built into the Hub 2.

John
domejunky
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2019

Re: Speeds lower than estimates with recent house move

OK, Modem gone. Speeds are already up by a few Mbps. I imagine there's a few days of handshaking to happen now?


What's weird, I was sent an upgraded modem with the Hub2 - I've got 2 now