cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speeds are in bytes/s

FIXED
DavMcCC
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-05-2016

Speeds are in bytes/s

Hi

Last night every thing was working as it should, today it is driving me mad

According to the router I have a down speed of 20286kbps

But can only get an average of 111bytes/s again

 

See attached photographs and I am only a few weeks into a 2 year contract

11 REPLIES
DavMcCC
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-05-2016

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

DavMcCC
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-05-2016

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

I decided that I would run a broadband speed checker waste of time it never got past the point of finding a test sever.. I am turning off the computer now and will log in here tomorrow "Wednesday" to check for what can I do next.

I should say that the router is plugged in to a new Openreach mk4 socket and the computer wired to the router "no wireless stuff here"

 

You can see from this final image that the speeds are way toooo slow

 

Dave

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,187
Thanks: 486
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

It looks like you're using a fairly old modem/router. I'd generally recommend at least updating its firmware, if not replacing it with something newer.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,596
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

With all those other pages open, and the amount of CPU usage going on, speed tests are going to be slow.

 

Try testing again with nothing else using up your resources..

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,298
Thanks: 790
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

What do you get from this?

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,792
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

Yes as @Browni said, shut everything down so there is just you using the browser with one tab.
Try the BT Speedtest.

If you have another device capiable of using Wi-Fi, (such as a mobile) it is worth testing the connection with that to see if the speeds are any different. That will rule out the computer being at fault and not the connection.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 504
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎22-01-2018

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

Fix

Hello @DavMcCC

Sorry to hear you are experiencing problems with your speed. I can see that the settings on your line were set too low for the level of interference we would expect to see. I have increased this which will stabilise the connection, and speed allowing information to be received with out interference. 

 

I have sent you a ticket which can be accessed here, with more details. Please monitor your connection over the next couple of days and get back to us if need any further help.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 SammyM
 Plusnet Help Team
DavMcCC
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-05-2016

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

Oh hi ejs, yes it may be an older router but it is running on the latest or last firm wire update,  if I was to replace this router, what would you recommend ? some thing with NO wifi on it please as it don't work jammed in behind 3 computers

 

Thanks

Dave

DavMcCC
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-05-2016

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

Hi there Browni

Ran the test you left me the link for, you will note that I had to change over to Chrome to test it as firefox don't running some things on this Linux computer

And look at all the files / tabs running, including the wife's wifi router, and the son he is on the xbox

 

OK, it may not be the fastest and yes I did leave every thing else running, (cuz I am lazy at times) but it shows how the system should work and it normally does as how you now see it.

 

Should also add, that I think I had about 5 or 7 tabs open in firefox, plusnet /email / facebook and a couple of others

 

Dave

DavMcCC
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-05-2016

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

SammyM

 

I shall blame you and say you fix'ed it for me,  I am not to quote that other known person who is dead.

 

Dave

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,624
Thanks: 3,097
Fixes: 487
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Speeds are in bytes/s

Hi Dave.

I'm glad to hear your speeds have improved.

Please let us know if you need any further assistance.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team