cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speeds after removal of Cap

red7
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 06-12-2007

Speeds after removal of Cap

Line was uncaped last night, stats this morning:-
ADSL Link  Downstream  Upstream
Connection Speed 8232 kbps 883 kbps
Line Attenuation 38 db 10.5 db
Noise Margin 10 db 10 db

Upstream has doubled as expected, Downstream has dropped from 8412kbps to 8232kbps and NM has increased from 9db to 10db, Based on LA of 38db Downstream should be in the 10 - 12000kbps so there is still work to do,
17 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

You're welcome Wink
The noise margin is at 10dB, so you should be able to eek a little bit more out of your line.  It's worth trying also the usual things, like wiring directly into your test socket to ensure that your internal wiring is as good as it can be.
red7
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 06-12-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

OK, my set up plugs directly in to the main socket, I did a reboot 90mins ago, results as follows:-
ADSL Link  Downstream  Upstream
Connection Speed 9504 kbps 883 kbps
Line Attenuation 38 db 10.5 db
Noise Margin 9 db 10 db

Things are moving in the right direction, I will let it settle and see how stable it is, as I understand it CN21 should automatically balance out and should not need rebooting to improve performance - is this correct?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

It should settle out, yes.
There's no harm in doing a reboot first thing in the morning.
red7
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 06-12-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

The line was stable for 24 hours at the previous speeds, I re-booted this morning hoping for a further improvement and was disappointed revised stats as follows:-
ADSL Link  Downstream  Upstream
Connection Speed 8605 kbps 883 kbps
Line Attenuation 38 db 10.5 db
Noise Margin 9 db 10 db

It might be better with the Thompson router when it arrives, in the meantime I think I will leave it alone and see if it will sync up on its own. This is what happened with MAX, it started at around 6500kbps D/S and built up to a solid 8128kbps over a few weeks.
Sad
snowwolf
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 22-03-2009

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

Thanks James for getting my upstream uncapped.
These are my router stats now (Draytek Vigor 2800G)
  --------------------------- ATU-R Info (annex A) ----------------------------
  Running Mode            :  ADSL2+      State                : SHOWTIME
  DS Actual Rate          : 18143100 bps  US Actual Rate      :  1051900 bps
  DS maximum Rate        : 18143100 bps  US maximum Rate      :  1051900 bps
  DS Path Mode            :  Interleave    US Path Mode        :  Interleave
  NE Current Attenuation  :    18.0  dB    Cur SNR Margin      :    2.5  dB
  DS actual PSDM(C)      : 00000000      US actual PSDM(R)    : 00000000
  ADSL Firmware Version  : E.38.2.23
  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
  Far Current Attenuation :    9.5  dB    Far SNR Margin      :    14.0  dB
  CO ITU Version[0]      : 00000000      CO ITU Version[1]    : 00000000
  DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < Unknown >
  -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
  INTL, DSTREAM bytes/depth=  0, symbols/codewords  =  0, latency= 0*0.25ms.
      , USTREAM bytes/depth=  0, symbols/codewords  =  0, latency= 0*0.25ms.
  CODE, DSTREAM fast parity bytes=  0, fast codeword=  0.
        DSTREAM intl parity bytes=  0, intl codeword=  0.
  CODE, USTREAM fast parity bytes=  0, fast codeword=  0.
        USTREAM intl parity bytes=  0, intl codeword=  0.
  Setting>>
      FDQ : Enable, TCM : Enable, EC : Disable, Framing Mode : 3.
  Running>>
      FDQ :    Off, TCM :    Off, EC :    Off.
      DS : Framing Mode 3, US : Framing Mode 3.
  ADI ADSL Firmware Version: E.38.2.23
I've only been on the trial for 8 days now and it says you might only see an improvement after 10 days, but this is what I am seeing on various speed testers
Friday 27/03/2009 7:52am
Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.
    Your DSL connection rate: 18142 kbps(DOWN-STREAM),  1051 kbps(UP-STREAM)
    IP profile for your line is - 15000 kbps
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 4645 kbps

My upload speed is now healthy and stable, but download speed fluctuates wildly, and I haven't gone above 9000kbps on any speed test over the last 9 days. My router, connectivity and sync speeds have been very stable. Actually my sync speeds have gone up - The IP profile on my line has increased from 14000kbps to 15000kbps.
So any ideas why I might not be seeing those types of speeds on my downstream?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,768
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

I wouldn't worry too much about the actual throughput reported by the BT Performance Tester - there are many instances recently where that gives a rather unrealisticly low value.
With regard to the result from My Broadband Speed, have you checked that the Current Line Speed in the Member Centre shows 15000kbps? Are you using a wired or wireless connection to your router? And if your computer runs Windows XP or earlier have you increased RWIN to around 250,000?
David
David
snowwolf
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 22-03-2009

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

My current line speed in the Member Centre also shows 15000kbps. I'm on a wired connection to the router. I'm on XP so will try the RWIN tweak when I get home this evening. Thanks.
tallcal
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 18-03-2009

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

Looks like I am on ADSL2 not ADSL2+ I have the same router as snowwolf...
  --------------------------- ATU-R Info (annex A) ----------------------------
  Running Mode            :    ADSL2      State                : SHOWTIME
  DS Actual Rate          :  3070800 bps  US Actual Rate      :  739900 bps
  DS maximum Rate        :  3070800 bps  US maximum Rate      :  739900 bps
  DS Path Mode            :  Interleave    US Path Mode        :  Interleave
  NE Current Attenuation  :    46.0  dB    Cur SNR Margin      :    11.5  dB
  DS actual PSDM(C)      : 00000000      US actual PSDM(R)    : 00000000
  ADSL Firmware Version  : E.38.2.23
  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
  Far Current Attenuation :    32.5  dB    Far SNR Margin      :    12.0  dB
  CO ITU Version[0]      : 00000000      CO ITU Version[1]    : 00000000
  DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < Unknown >
  -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
  INTL, DSTREAM bytes/depth=  0, symbols/codewords  =  0, latency= 0*0.25ms.
      , USTREAM bytes/depth=  0, symbols/codewords  =  0, latency= 0*0.25ms.
  CODE, DSTREAM fast parity bytes=  0, fast codeword=  0.
        DSTREAM intl parity bytes=  0, intl codeword=  0.
  CODE, USTREAM fast parity bytes=  0, fast codeword=  0.
        USTREAM intl parity bytes=  0, intl codeword=  0.
  Setting>>
      FDQ : Enable, TCM : Enable, EC : Disable, Framing Mode : 3.
  Running>>
      FDQ :    Off, TCM :    Off, EC :    Off.
      DS : Framing Mode 3, US : Framing Mode 3.
  ADI ADSL Firmware Version: E.38.2.23
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,768
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

Is that with Multimode selected as the mode setting? There are other posts in this forum where ADSL2 seems to have been chosen (e.g. posts around here). The router would sync with ADSL2+ if that mode was forced though a lower speed resulted.
Are you still within the 10 day training period since switch-over?
David
David
bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

might be a coincidence but my line seems to be dropping connection every now and then
this seems to be much more often since  the upspeed has been uncapped
anyone else seen this?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,768
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

Could you post your router stats (upstream and downstream sync speeds, attenuations and noise margins, and mode if that is shown)? It's possible the DLM might be trying a 3dB target noise margin (but should give that up in a couple of days if it is causing instability).
David
David
tallcal
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 18-03-2009

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

I have selected G.992.5 (ADSL2+) in the ADSL settings.... My 10 day training period ends today (was activated on the 17/03)
So not sure if the exchange equipment is forced to ADSL2 or when the exchange was upgraded it wasn't done properly... Undecided Sad Cry
bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

for some reason can't telnet onto my wag54 anymore to get the stats.
did try with a bt 2wire 2700, but it's a terrible modem and really bad wireless, quite suprised thought it would be good so bought it of ebay...
anyway will upadte in a week with hows the dropouts are doing..was windy today
red7
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 06-12-2007

Re: Speeds after removal of Cap

Have just checked stats this morning, service had been running at over 9000kbps downstream and 1000kbps upstream for 3 days, todays stats following a BT driven re-sync at around 2am are:-
ADSL Link  Downstream  Upstream
Connection Speed 7995 kbps 1092 kbps
Line Attenuation 38 db 10.5 db
Noise Margin 10 db 6 db

Downstream NM was  running at 9db dropping to 6dp in the evenings.  Embarrassed