cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

AlbaZombie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-05-2014

Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

First post on the forums and i'm hoping someone can help / give useful advice. A little background first, my house is at the end of the phone line in a semi rural location in north east Scotland so with the distance I am from the exchange I know I'm not going to get blistering speeds.
Ok so I moved to Plusnet a little over a month ago on the 15th April from Sky who I'd been with for over 5 years, after having read good things about Plusnet and had a personal recommendation from a friend who's an IT Engineer.
Well after using plusnet for a month hoping that as the line gets set up and beds in it might improve, I'm not that impressed with my connection speed. Routers been reset and left switched off for 20 mins a few times with little or no improvement.
<a href="http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3507735706"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/3507735706.png" /></a>

With sky I was getting 0.7Mbps down and around 0.3Mbps up with a ping of between 30 and 40ms, not great but better than now, and I have noticed a considerable difference when browsing, pages take longer to load or need multiple refreshes, ping and latency when gaming (Battlefield 4 mostly) have gone up and large downloads (game patches, Linux ISO's, etc) have to be spread over numerous nights (not a new thing on this line but now its twices as many nights) to avoid completely clogging the connection.
Currently Connected to gateway pcl-ag02. And I'm connected to the line via the master socket (have been since I was with sky as it gave me speed problems)
Really hoping something can be down as honestly at times I feel like digging out my old 56K modem because it felt faster  Cry
Thanks
Andy
10 REPLIES
AlbaZombie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-05-2014

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

I should add when I said the I'm connected to the master socket I mean the test socket behind the faceplate.
Just raised a ticket with Plusnet support so will see what they say
Andy
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,063
Thanks: 2,419
Fixes: 21
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

Hi Andy,
Welcome to PlusNET and the forums.  PlusNet's Digital Care Team (DCT) are only in the forums during office hours.  In the meantime, other customers are around to help.
Can you please post the information requested in the "speed issues" thread at the top this forum.
Kevin
hitachi
Grafter
Posts: 343
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

What is your sync speed .Sky do not use IP profiles like BT lines so there is no tipping point to get to the next profile on Sky you just get the speed you connect at,this page shows the bt profile points
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

Hi Andy,
I'm really sorry to hear that your speeds are worse off with us over Sky.
You've mentioned that you're connected to your Master Socket, would it be possible for you to connect into your Test Socket? We would like to eliminate your internal wiring and any extension cables that you might have. As it stands at the moment, you're connecting at a very low rate and we'd like to do all we can to get as much out of your line for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

He already is - see reply #1
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

In that case, I've escalated your Ticket to our Faults Team for further investigation. I would expect an update on this within the next 48-72 hours.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
AlbaZombie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-05-2014

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

Hi sorry here is the additional info requested
Router Stats
Uptime: 1 day, 12:55:04
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 288 / 512
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 0.99 / 8.78
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.3 / 13.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 63.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 10.0 / 5.4
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1,936 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1,185 / 41,109
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 217 / 780
HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 1,148

BT  Speed test
1. Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.
Download  Speed
0.35 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.5 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 0.35 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 0.1 Mbps-0.5 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 0.45 Mbps
2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.21 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.21Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps

We were unable to identify any performance problem with your service at this time.
It is possible that any problem you are currently, or had previously experienced may have been caused by traffic congestion on the Internet or by the server you were accessing responding slowly.
If you continue to encounter a problem with a specific server, please contact the administrator of that server in the first instance.

Current line speed

Telephone number:
***************
Phone exchange:
ARBROATH
Estimated line speed:
1.0Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2014-03-29 18:42:13
Current line speed:
0.4 Mb
Thanks Andy
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

Your Sky connection was probably G.992.3 (ADSL2) via LLU and you are now on ADSL (G.992.1). Your exchange does have have ADSL2/2+ - see SamKnows exchange search but use the BT checker as well.
Looking at your stats, you would need ADSL2 to get speeds like Sky. Perhaps the DCT can see if ADSL2 could be applied to squeeze a bit more speed (strangely, my up attenuation is more than yours but the down is less on 4.53km of underground cables).
Is your modem-router set to Auto for he DSL? You could try setting it to force ADSL2 and see whether it connects.
Phil
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

Quote
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:  288 / 512

You're on a fixed speed connection for some reason - that certainly needs investigating.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Speed worse since migrating to Plusnet from Sky :(

I can see why you thought that Jaggies but this circuit isn't on a Fixed Rate Product.
The Fault Ticket should be picked up shortly though.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer