cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed tester

Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2008

Speed tester

The Plusnet speed tester has had the following message posted for some time. Is there any chance it could be fixed?
What other speed testers do people suggest please ?
"Please Note: We are currently experiencing issues with our speed tester and results may not be 100% accurate.
"
Mal
8 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Speed tester

It's something we'd really like to get fixed, however, we've higher priority problems open to get resolved in the first instance.
We are planning to get it sorted, rest assured.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Speed tester

It would be nice if plusnet would give a reasonable time frame in relation to the higher priorities to get these lower priority issue(s) fixed or at least started
Examples
1 Month
6 Weeks
6 Months
12 Months
NEVER
etc etc etc
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Speed tester

It's quite difficult to do that I'm afraid.
Not only are we working on projects to improve our Order Journey, we have open problems which are customer impacting which has certain complexities for which it's too difficult to give a timescale on resolving.
We'd love to be able to give a timescale, however, I'd rather not set an unrealistic expectation if we were unable to deliver for any reason.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,556
Thanks: 197
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Speed tester

You can use the BT speedtester:
Speedtester
it works fine Smiley
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2008

Re: Speed tester

Thanks Art - I wonder why PN cant use that !
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,556
Thanks: 197
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Speed tester

Hi Mal, it's the one PN gave me in the week when I had a problem.
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2008

Re: Speed tester

Cris,
Can't you just use the BTW one that Artmo linked to - it's quit basic compared with many other tested - but at least it seems to work ok.
Mal
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Speed tester

That's where we advise our customers to go when you complete the Faults Checker online at http://faults.plus.net
This information is displayed here http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/bbfaults/bt_speed_tester.shtml too.
We'll work to get the Speed Tester fixed as soon as we can, but as artmo has stated, you can use the BT Speedtester in the meantime.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer