cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed test without java or flash

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Speed test without java or flash

http://speedof.me/
http://speedof.me/show.php?img=120821054015-550.png
results are a bit higher than the normal speed tests but seem to be accurate
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Speed test without java or flash

I like that, I had a read of the 'how it works' - pretty simple really but interesting and informative.  Why are other speed test sites so complicated (or in BT's case, unreliable)?
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

The upload part failed for me in both Firefox and Chrome.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Speed test without java or flash

yup upload test FAIL  Embarrassed FF 14
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

Odd
It worked for me using Firefox 14
I wonder if the Internet Security package has something to do with it - I am using KIS
However checking the figures against Networx during the test and it is definitely reading high
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Speed test without java or flash

Worked fine on XP (SP3) & IE8  Embarrassed  (Sorry, work PC)
Symantec Corporate AV if it makes any difference.
Also worked very nicely using Pale Moon (12.3) browser on the same PC. http://speedof.me/show.php?img=120821061558-551.png
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,919
Thanks: 1,730
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

Upload failed for me in Waterfox 13 and KIS 2012

Customer and Forum Moderator.

BRABUS
Grafter
Posts: 660
Registered: 12-01-2010

Re: Speed test without java or flash

Upload is also failing for me using IE 8
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

Opera 11.51 download is slower than all other sites report it, but upload is faster by  100kb/s than the same sites - BT's / thinkBB/ speednet
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,867
Thanks: 126
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Speed test without java or flash

Widows 7-64, Chrome browser, KIS security software.  Upload fails, download speed slightly higher than my IP Profile.
Laser
Grafter
Posts: 206
Registered: 23-09-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

From http://speedof.me/howitworks.html
Quote
SpeedOf.Me also downloads large contagious sample files.

Grin Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

So the recommendation must be not to use that tester unless you want your PC to be infected! Grin
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,919
Thanks: 1,730
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

I know a good joke about the word 'contagious'......can't tell it here though Lips are sealed
I tried the speedtester in IE9 and IE9 didn't like it one bit.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

That is because it uses html5
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,919
Thanks: 1,730
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Speed test without java or flash

And here's me thinking that IE9 had HTML5 support Undecided

Customer and Forum Moderator.