cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

Hi guys, been a long time! We had an issue when we first switched to Plusnet that our line was stuck on ADSL instead of 2+ (router reported G.992.1 instead of 992.5) which was sorted pronto by your staff and the line profile was adjusted accordingly. This is what it looked like:
Router stats
Uptime:   0 days, 5:01:55
DSL Type:   ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   1.208 / 12.647
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]:   35,11 / 723,40
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:   12,2 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:   12,3 / 25,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:   6,1 / 5,8
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote):   TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote):   BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):   0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):   0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):   0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote):   -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):   384 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down):   0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down):   14 / 742
HEC Errors (Up/Down):   8 / 5.783
After my parents got their subscription ungraded to Unlimited, they had the same problem as before where the account defaulted back to ADSL instead of 2+. That was sorted, but I've noticed since I've come home for easter that although the router reports G.992.5, the line profile is 443 / 8,128.
Router stats
Uptime: 9 days, 16:57:23
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 443 / 8,128
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 4.32 / 110.65
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.8 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 12.5 / 25.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26.5 / 12.7
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 52 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 6 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 16,637 / 3
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 133 / 9,526
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 59 / 29,137
Could this be sorted out?
Cheers!  Smiley
Edit: Also noticed that the SN margin is very high... strange...
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

Hi there,
We could certainly take a look but would need to know the account to look at - any chance you could post a ticket ID or something so we can find it?
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Re: Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

The question ID is 68047022 if that helps?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

Hi there,
I've just performed some diagnostic checks and looked at the order history on your account and our suppliers systems and your connection is set to be ADSL2+ at the moment, some of the line stats seem to disagree with that though so we may be looking at a BT system issue or failing that a fault but either way our faults team should be able to get that sorted for you.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Re: Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

Do you have an update on where things stand right now?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

Hi aj007,
As per the ticket update from yesterday morning, we've placed an order to move you up to ADSL2+ speeds. I'm happy to say this has completed and your BT profile has jumped to over 13Mb, hope it's made a difference?
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Re: Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

Indeed it has, thank you for the help! Here's the BT Speedtest results:
Download
Download speed achieved during the test was - 13.74 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 13.74 Mbps
Upload
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.68Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
Edit: Minor side note, my SN margin is quite low, will it be a problem? I think the connection is pretty stable, haven't had any issues yet. Would a higher SN margin (around 6) allow a slightly better IP profile?
Uptime: 0 days, 7:56:23
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 15,577
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 69.24 / 1.46
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.9 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 12.6 / 25.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 13.9 / 2.9
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 247 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 7 / 1,178,283
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,569
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 38,942
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Speed profile stuck on ADSL instead of 2+?

As far as SN margin goes, lower = faster by around 800kb/s per 3dB. If it's stable I'd recommend leaving it where it is, raising it to 6 would in fact reduce your speed so best left for if the connection starts to drop (which hopefully it won't).