cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

breadmore
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 30-07-2007

Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Been with PN for years and never really had speed issues. All I have done is retired my old router and replaced with above.
Current dsl data below
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:13:09
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 6.784
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 17,29 / 115,22
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,9 / 19,8
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 27,0 / 43,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 25,0 / 6,0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / ALCB
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 8 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 380 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 162
HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 162 / 39
This is similar to old setup - SNR /attenuation numbers are similar
Current line speed is and was 5.5Mb
Broadband speed test was 4774 now 1946
What's the problem please?
21 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Hmm... there's been a few disconnections today:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image1347462910981.png" />
Not sure if there's enough there to cause the profile to be lowered (plus it's still showing as 5500 on our side and on BTs), or if they were initiated by yourself. I think an SNR reset might help but would rather see the line stable for a couple of days before we try it, otherwise it'll settle at a lower speed than it should do.
breadmore
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Thanks for the prompt reply. The disconnects will have been me installing the new router. I'll give it a couple of days and get back to you.
breadmore
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Matt this is still the same and I can't figure it out. The speed is the slowest I've had in the last 6 years with PN. Even more frustrating is that after the call centre told me to change some settings on my PC I now can't get the old router working to get back to status quo. Please help!!
regards
Al;an
RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-11-2011

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Can you remember what was changed on the PC? Or if not able, the area where you think it might have been?
That's RPM to you!!
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,852
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Quote from: breadmore
Even more frustrating is that after the call centre told me to change some settings on my PC I now can't get the old router working to get back to status quo.

Setting a fixed IP address on the network adaptor is a favourite of call centres.  What make and model is your old router?
breadmore
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Old router is US Robotics Wireless Maxg ADSL gateway USR 9108.
I think they told me to changeIPV4 properties IP address, default gateway and DNS servers, trouble is I don't remember what they were before. I know, I should have made a note, another lesson learned!!
Thanks for your responses
Alan
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,852
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

The default is to get these values automatically from the router so nothing is set explicitly.  If you revert to that you should be able to use your old router again.  In fact just changing the gateway IP address from 192.168.1.254 to 192.168.1.1 might well do the trick.
breadmore
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Thanks - the good news is that I've now got my old router working again, the bad news is my speed is still 1.9
ADSL stats from (old) router shown below - current line speed is still 5.5
Downstream Upstream
SNR margin (dB): 5.8  24.0
Attenuation (dB): 44.0  26.0
Output power (dBm): 19.8  11.9
Attainable rate (Kbps): 6144  1084
Rate (Kbps): 6112  448
K (number of bytes in DMT frame): 192  15
R (number of check bytes in RS code word): 0  0
S (RS code word size in DMT frame): 1  1
D (interleaver depth): 1  1
Delay (msec): 0  0
What has happened here? - another bit of data, I switched services from the old BB My Way to the new one about two weeks ago - but service (speed)  was unchanged at switchover; only since installing the new router has the problem emerged.
Why didn't I leave sleeping dogs lie? Thanks for your help, any clues welcome, I'll give it a few more days before I get really grumpy with PN
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,852
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

When you say "current line speed", do you mean the value reported here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed ?
You also need to run the speed test here http://www.speedtester.bt.com/ (the ADSL & FTTC test - not the beta) and record what your IP Profile is, as well as the speeds measured.  Then post your results for comment. 
breadmore
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

Quote from: ReedRichards
When you say "current line speed", do you mean the value reported here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed ?

Yes
Quote from: ReedRichards
You also need to run the speed test here http://www.speedtester.bt.com/ (the ADSL & FTTC test - not the beta) and record what your IP Profile is, as well as the speeds measured.  Then post your results for comment.  

The speed I have been quoting is fro the PN My Broadband Speed link - I have tried the BT link a couple of times this morning but am getting the following, will try again later.

The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider.
Thanks for your help
adie:green fixed quote tags.
breadmore
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

The BT suggests trying the BT Wholesale tester. This gives the following result
download 1.94
upload .35
ping latency 42.5ms

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,852
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

The main point of running the BT test is to check that your BT IP Profile is the same value as Plusnet's 'current line speed'.  For example, if it turned out that your BT IP Profile is stuck at 2000 kbps  that would explain why you cannot download any faster than than.  So you need to keep trying.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

That is the beta test I think - this is the one you need to use http://speedtester.bt.com/
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,531
Thanks: 1,534
Fixes: 100
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Speed problems after switch to Technicolour 582N

...and pick the left of the two options marked Diagnostics.

Customer and Forum Moderator.