cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed just took a big dump

nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Speed just took a big dump

So i have been with Plusnet for nearly a month now and not had a single speed related issue, its been running at the full 8meg since it went live, but about 10 minutes ago its just taken a massive dump and im now only getting 0.5meg, when this happened my connection never dropped but i have since rebooted the router hoping it might clear up but it hasn't.
126 REPLIES
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

And just as fast as it took a dump it has now returned to full speed, weird.
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Well it's happened again, one second full speed the next unusable 0.5meg.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,973
Thanks: 4,269
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Please take a look at the speed issues thread (link below) and post here all of the requested information.
Is the phone line noisy?  Dial 17070 option 2.
Is the router plugged into the master socket?

@CRT,
Can you please post a VR plot?  TIA.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,668
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Hi nightstalk3r,
Checks on your connection aren't showing me any issues.
It's best we figure out if the issue is related to your WiFi or not as the first step. I assume that's how you usually connect?
If so can you connect a device such as a PC using an ethernet cable and see if anything changes?

<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image1442227728815.png"/>
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

I always have connected via Ethernet, Wifi is the devil, right now im having some serious speed fluctuations between 1mbit and 8mbit.
My stats from the router indicate that the line is perfectly fine its just throughput that seem to randomly have massive drops.
[DSL Modem Stats]
US Connection Rate: 448 DS Connection Rate: 8128
DS Line Attenuation: 10 DS Margin: 12
US Line Attenuation: 5 US Margin: 28
US Payload : 3172444704 DS Payload: 3026348976
US Superframe Cnt : 15976116 DS Superframe Cnt: 15976116
US Transmit Power : 0 DS Transmit Power: 0
LOS errors: 0 SEF errors: 0
Errored Seconds: 0 Severely Err Secs: 0
Frame mode: 3 Max Frame mode: 0
Trained Path: 0 US Peak Cell Rate: 1056
Trained Mode: 3 Selected Mode: 1
ATUC Vendor Code: 54535443 ATUC Revision: 3
Hybrid Selected: 3 Trellis: 1
Showtime Count: 2 DS Max Attainable Bit Rate: 10752 kbps
BitSwap: 1 US Max Attainable Bit Rate: n/a
Annex: AnxA psd_mask_qualifier: 0x0000
Power Management Status: L0 DS HLINSC: 0
US ACTPSD: -345 DS ACTPSD: -365
Total init. errors: 0 Total init. timeouts: 0
Showtime init. errors: 0 Showtime init. timeouts: 0
Last showtime init. errors: 0 Last showtime init. timeouts: 0
ATUC ghsVid:  b5 00 54 53 54 43 05 10
T1413Vid: 00 00 T1413Rev: 00 VendorRev: 00
ATUR ghsVid:  b5 00 54 53 54 43 00 00
T1413Vid: 00 00 T1413Rev: 00 VendorRev: 00
[Upstream (TX) Interleave path]
CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 1
LCD: 0 HEC: 0
[Downstream (RX) Interleave path]
CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0
[Upstream (TX) Fast path]
CRC: 0 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0
[Downstream (RX) Fast path]
CRC: 1 FEC: 0 NCD: 0
LCD: 0 HEC: 0

For the first 3 weeks i was with you it was running perfectly but this has started happening every day since Friday.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,010
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 220
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Speed just took a big dump

I'd recommend going through our troubleshooter so our Faults team can have a look.
https://faults.plus.net
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Been running at 8meg all day but as of 8:50pm i am now getting this
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,973
Thanks: 4,269
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Can you please answer the questions asked in post #3 and have you used the trouble-shooter as suggested in Matthew's post ?
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Quote from: Townman
Can you please answer the questions asked in post #3 and have you used the trouble-shooter as suggested in Matthew's post ?
No the phone line isn't noisy and yes it's connected to the master socket, as i said the line isn't the issue, my line stats don't change and the line doesn't drop its the throughput that takes the hit not the sync rate.
Anyway 5 minutes later

The troubleshooter doesn't really help as none of the options fit my issue.
juzzyp
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎28-03-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Sounds like congestion to me, I've been having the same issue, done all the usual tests, and been through every fault procedure, I think the network is under a lot of load and maybe there's a tad too many subscribers on the network, I've done speed tests outside of peak hours and the speeds have been brilliant.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,973
Thanks: 4,269
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Are you able to set up a TBB BQM?
If you are not using WiFi and the line is sound with no errors (looks like you are at the top end of 20CN ADSL1 operation) then it can only be your PC or the exchange.
The BQM should indicate if it is exchange congestion.
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Quote from: juzzyp
Sounds like congestion to me, I've been having the same issue, done all the usual tests, and been through every fault procedure, I think the network is under a lot of load and maybe there's a tad too many subscribers on the network, I've done speed tests outside of peak hours and the speeds have been brilliant.
Seems to be the case to me, just strange it was great for 3 weeks and now since Friday at random times in the evening it slows to a crawl, often times so slow websites just time out or return DNS errors.
Right now im getting
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Right now it is all over the shop, here are 4 speed test's run within the space of 5 minutes.

Nothing else is running on this computer, all other devices in the house have been disconnected, im also monitoring traffic on this computer to see if something else on here is using the bandwidth but its not.
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Speed just took a big dump

Well since this started on Friday its not been slow for more than an hour a day, so far today its been crawling for over 5 hours and is showing no signs of returning to normal so whatever the issue is it's getting worse.