cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed at 0.2Mbps

AlexR
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 08-01-2014

Speed at 0.2Mbps

My broadband has been noticeably slow for a number of weeks, but it wasn't until I was unable to do things like watch iPlayer that I was prompted to investigate/report. I finally did this, following Plusnet's troubleshooting process and ending up logging a fault (no 79205074). After a week of silence Plusnet came back to me yesterday saying that I needed to resolve my problem with my supplier (BT) because I had mentioned occasional static on the line. This static has actually gone after replacing the micro filter, cabling and re-siting my phone handset so I do not believe that it can be connected. I have now told Plusnet this but since they seem particularly unengaged in finding a solution I have had to look elsewhere. I came across this forum which seems to be really helpful, so I'd be grateful for any guidance you can give me.
My problem: My download speeds are measuring approx 0.2Mbps and upload 0.8Mbps. My connection often drops out, I wait for the flashing lights on the router (see below) to stabilise and it comes back.
Other symptoms: the green internet and ethernet lights on my router flash almost continually which I'm sure they never used to. The other lights (power and broadband) are stable green.
My phone provider: standard BT phone line.
My equipment: Thomson TG585 v8 router. Typically I have this wired to an Apple Time Capsule to provide my wireless, however I have also run tests using the Thomson wireless signal directly and with an old wired Thomson ST516 v6 router and got exactly the same speeds. In the last couple of weeks I have replaced my previous micro filter with a Belkin.
The Thomson Gateway figures from the provided link:

Uptime: 0 days, 20:58:13
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 996 / 13,096
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,095 / 288
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 2.60 / 13.26
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 2.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 17.0 / 27.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 3.0 / 33.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 131,073 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 131,073 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1,447 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 642 / 0
I have also just ran the BT Wholesale test and got:
Download speed: 0.16 Mbps
Upload speed: 0.16 Mbps
Ping latency: 30.63 ms
I then tried to run their 'extra diagnostics' but got an HTTP Status 500 internal error.
Can anyone point me to where the problem may lie? I'd be grateful for any assistance.
Thanks,
Alex
3 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,613
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Speed at 0.2Mbps

Quote from: AlexR
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 996 / 13,096
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,095 / 288 <----

----> That's the killer - you are on a banded profile, probably from low synch issues when the line was faulty/noisy. If the line stays stable then the DCT guys can request a CCSNR reset, which will reset your line back to the default settings.
AlexR
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 08-01-2014

Re: Speed at 0.2Mbps

Jaggies, thanks, much appreciated.
I'll add that info to my ticket and see what happens.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,385
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 67
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Speed at 0.2Mbps

Hi there,
I've run another copper line test which doesn't show any issues so this needs to be looked at by our faults team again. The line is banded at the moment but as the connection seems to be dropping fairly frequent that makes me wary of performing an SNR reset so it's best we look into that aspect of the issue first and we can worry about resetting the line when that side of the issue has been resolved:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13891799751855.png"/>
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team