cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed and router problems :(

egirl
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 03-02-2014

Speed and router problems :(

So I've been a customer for a month now.
My speed started dropping yesterday and this morning I couldn't get wifi at all on any of my devices (phone, ipod etc)
It kept diverting me to the log in page for the router that was supplied by plusnet.
I have now managed to get online but my speed is ridiculous! Current reading is 0.68Mb download and 0.027Mb/s upload.
Any ideas what the problem is? I usully get seed of about 4.6Mb/s
thanks
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Speed and router problems :(

Please provide the full router stats as asked for here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
egirl
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Speed and router problems :(


DSL Connection 

Link Information
   

Uptime: 0 days, 4:47:37

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 35 / 4,779

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 6.24 / 59.20

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.3 / 0.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 32.4 / 54.5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.9 / 8.7

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 4 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1,961 / 3

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 68,911 / 2,238,781

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1,613 / 20,974

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 441 / 174,638


Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Speed and router problems :(

Is there any noise on the line - dial 17070 option 2
Basically your upstream speed is shot to hell and this is crippling your downstream speed from a speed test
You need to resync the router - click on disconnect from http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/bb/?be=0&l0=2&l1=-1 then unplug it from the phone line once the internet connection light has turned red
Once the DSL light has gone red/flashing plug it in again and once it goes green click in connect from the same link
What are the new stats
egirl
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Speed and router problems :(

Thanks for your response.
No noise on the phone line,

I did as you said with the router but my lights never went red...waited ages. I then had to disconnect the router as it wasn't accepting the 'admin' and password I was putting in when I tried to go back in to connect.
new stats

DSL Connection 

Link Information
   

Uptime: 0 days, 0:01:49

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 5,388

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 217.43 / 1.23

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.6 / 0.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.7 / 51.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.8 / 6.2

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 3 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 312

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 5 / 9

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 24 / 154


egirl
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Speed and router problems :(

new speed test  Smiley http://www.speedcheckerapi.com/Images/150439061.jpg
thanks for your help. Hope it stays like this  x
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Speed and router problems :(

That has fixed the immediate problem but not what caused the upstream speed to drop to that extent
You will need to monitor what is happening
I suggest installing Routerstats http://www.vwlowen.co.uk/internet/files.htm
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Speed and router problems :(

Could do better - it's on ADSL2 (G.992.3) instead of ADSL2+ (G.992.5). Your upstream is capped, and the error count is fairly high for just over a minute connected.
If you have the appropriate telephone socket, try connecting to the test port, to rule out any internal wiring issues. See the guide here https://www.plus.net/support/broadband/master-socket-guide.shtml.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Speed and router problems :(

That is a very good speed for a 51dB attenuation and as such won't see any benefit from being on ADSL2+
Upstream should remain capped until we find out what caused the problem in the first place
Initial errors on connection aren't a reliable indication of anything. We need to see what happens over a few hours
egirl
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Speed and router problems :(

I'm not very technology savvy...so I will have a go at downloading the routerstats and see how I get on...
thanks again for helping, I really appreciate it.  Smiley