cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed Issue

stankered

Speed Issue

Hi,
I am new to Plusnet have worked for BT for just under 40 years and just retired.
Thought I might save some money as BT is just too expensive and try plus net.  At the moment I wish I had not - they stated I would get 20.1meg which on 1st July when my service started turned out to be 25meg to 28meg.  Great I thought then after the first week things started to go wrong.  Then found I had to reset router 2 to 3 times a day no internet ( red light Tecnicolor ) I finally got through to tech support, they said after much trying to blame my Apple Mac that they had found a multiplex system fault and would deal with - they also said they would SMS me when sorted in the mean time just keep resetting.  Did they call me back NO!
Now the speed has just got slower and slower almost 9meg when working, my old copper line was faster in fact I have a USB dongle thats faster.  Have finally reported using the assistant thing lives to short to hang on a phone for hours - but now the phone lines dead.
Can anyone tell me is this normal or will it get better as at the moment I thinking of telling them what to do will their system.
Fault number is72304672 if any Plusnet people out there?
Update:-    After 3 days the BT man came and fixed the external line problem and I now have dial tone etc.
But of course the speed of Broadband is the same.  I use to get 7 to 10 meg on copper with BT,  now I am getting ( when working)  9 meg with so called Super Fast Plusnet Fibre.
Any advise would be most welcome..........
7 REPLIES 7
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Re: Speed Issue

What does the BT speedtest ( http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/bbfaults/bt_speed_tester.shtml ) say your IP profile is ? and what does this https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed ( login required ) say for your Current Line speed ?