cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed Issue PLEASE H

martyboi86
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-03-2011

Speed Issue PLEASE H

My connection speed is terrible can someone please shed some light on this for me...my router stats are
Uptime: 1 day, 0:08:10

DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A

Channel mode: Fast

Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,164 / 8,128

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 64 / 128

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 0.00 / 45.47

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 0.0 / 4.5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 13.5 / 28.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.0 / 31.5

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / P

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 131,073 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 131,074 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 0

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
11 REPLIES
martyboi86
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-03-2011

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

anyone any ideas on this?Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

It looks as though both up and downstream have been banded - I have never seen that before
A rep may be able to help tomorrow
martyboi86
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-03-2011

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

Any reps available to look into this please?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,680
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 166
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

Are you plugged into the master socket or test socket (where the line first comes in to the property)?
Remove any extension leads, sky boxes etc and plug a single filter into the master or test socket and post the router stats after that again.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
martyboi86
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-03-2011

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

The above router stats are from the master socket. The router stats are the same when plugged into the test socket behind the faceplate also. Theres no modifications to the socket either. There is nothing plugged into the socket apart from the router itself + filter.  It's definatly been "banded" for some reason. you can imagine my frustration as the speed is ridiculos. also tryed another router and its exatly the same.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,680
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 166
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

Your line is on 20CN and therefore *not* banded as banding only applies on ADSL2+ lines. If you can use the faults checker rather than raising a normal ticket we'll be better placed and better armed with the information needed to investigate this.
http://faults.plus.net
I'm going to try an SNR reset, so give it 30 minutes before raising this as a fault please.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

Quote from: martyboi86
The router stats are the same when plugged into the test socket behind the faceplate also. Theres no modifications to the socket either. There is nothing plugged into the socket apart from the router itself + filter. 

Do you have any other telephone sockets? If so please bear with us and post the stats you actually get when plugged in to the test socket. Could you also confirm that when using the test socket all the extension sockets are dead.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,680
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 166
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

Can you log in to the router and ask it to disconnect/reconnect once. Let us know once you've done this.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
martyboi86
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-03-2011

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

Ill do this later tonight. im at work.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,680
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 166
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

In fact, don't worry about doing that, it's all looking good from here. Your sync is now 8128 and your profile has increased to 7150.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
martyboi86
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-03-2011

Re: Speed Issue PLEASE H

ok thanks alot chris. ill check it when im home and let you know how i get on.