Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Some general queries

ed89
Grafter

Some general queries

Hi,
I'm new to Plus.net, just completed my order a day or two ago.
Turned on my router, configured it all, but could not get connected. Came back from playing football an hour or two later and managed to get online, but it cut out after about 5 minutes. Removed services I run locally which could have interfered (apache, EPG service) but still couldn't get online. Tried again later that evening and successfully was online for about 4 hours straight. Went to answer the door, came back a minute later and had been disconnected and could not reconnect! This was at about midnight last night. Undecided
I wonder if this problem is only happening because my order has only been complete for about 1 day?
I checked my usage last night about 30 minutes before being disconnected, it was sitting at 49mb. I checked this morning and it said I used 506mb!! Quite literally my usage involved viewing a few photos, browsing some sites, reading some short text e-mails and uploading a few small HTML files. At one point I connected using RDP to my office computer for about 3 minutes to find an email. I viewed one or two streamed videos but they were each only around 5 minutes long. I'm not saying the system is lying, I just don't know how I could have used that much data in a few hours.
It's a bit of a worry, as I live with 3 others who are not so web-savvy and will probably spend most of their evenings on YouTube and the like, when I need the connection most for keeping an eye on work stuff when not at work.
I read after clicking the 'upgrade' button on the 'view usage' page that once you have used your allowance your connection is downgraded to 128kbps. Is this unlimited?
Thanks again
Ewan
6 REPLIES 6
MickKi
Grafter

Re: Some general queries

I have to assume a lot here as the required information is scarce.