cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So slow off peak

Richchad
Grafter
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Registered: 30-07-2007

So slow off peak

How come my Broadband speed is now so slow off peak, only noticed it recently..this cant be right whatever package I am on.....

I get nearly 8Mbps during daytime, what's going on?
14 REPLIES
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: So slow off peak

Pop your postcode into this page:
http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/
What colour is being given for VP capacity?
Also, if you look at your router stats (http://192.168.1.254), what are the noise margin and error counts currently being shown as?
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Surely you mean PEAK not OFFPEAK. as Offpeak is between midnight and 8am...
Super slow speeds during peak hours only is almost *always* a VP issue. (not enough capacity at the exchange..)
Regards
Richchad
Grafter
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Quote from: CX23882
Pop your postcode into this page:
http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/
What colour is being given for VP capacity?
Also, if you look at your router stats (http://192.168.1.254), what are the noise margin and error counts currently being shown as?
[/quote
Exchange is green, so okay.
Where exactly do I find router stats?]
Richchad
Grafter
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Quote from: Matt_2k34
Surely you mean PEAK not OFFPEAK. as Offpeak is between midnight and 8am...
Super slow speeds during peak hours only is almost *always* a VP issue. (not enough capacity at the exchange..)
Regards

No, I do mean off peak as I am on a old tariff where it is peak until 4.30pm then it is throttle down after that, unless my tariff has been changed without me knowing..............
Richchad
Grafter
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Quote from: CX23882
Pop your postcode into this page:
http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/
What colour is being given for VP capacity?
Also, if you look at your router stats (http://192.168.1.254), what are the noise margin and error counts currently being shown as?

Is this what you mean?

DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 3 days, 4:09:57
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 8,128
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 8.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 13.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 5.5 / 10.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 24.0 / 7.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 3 / 916
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 3 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 0
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Thats what we mean, yes Smiley
However theres "package peak" and "generic peak" .. as
"Package peak" = the time your billed for peak..
"Generic Peak" = when the most people are online (e.g. 4-10pm)
If its during "generic peak" time, then its more than likely due to exchange congestion.
Your stats are very good Smiley
can you put your phone number in Here and post back what "VP status" is currently (green, amber or red..) basically this traffic light system is used to say If or by how much BT is over congested.
Regards
Richchad
Grafter
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

So stats are good but my speed is really slow right now, exchange is green so no problem there........
jim:quote
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Please dont quote the full post previous (as per forum rules), it just makes things untidy.
Just because it shows green, does not necessarily mean that its "clear". There would be no artificial limiting PNs end unless your package has changed OR you've gone over your limit and the profile on your account is set incorrectly.
Regards
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: So slow off peak

What speed are Plusnet showing on this page?
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Richchad
Grafter
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Estimated line speed:
8Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2011-11-11 18:53:41
Current line speed:
7.15 Mb
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

I expected that to be honest,
You may need to wait until monday for Digicare to be available to have a look into this unless you have a ticket open (or call..?) but it sounds like a congeted circuit to be honest...
If you do a BT speedtest (and get test 3, it might take a few tries, each one not able to be done for 1 hour between unfortunately...) if test 3 "runs quickly" then its almost certainly BTs congestion issue (when Test 1 runs pathetically slow, and your net is crawling)... its important to do BT speedtests, not "others" as PN get these "logged" to view. and others are unreliable.
Regards
Richchad
Grafter
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Okay guys, thanks for your input, will see how it goes over the weekend and take it from there.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: So slow off peak

Hi Richchad,
I've just checked your traffic management profile and that's as it should be. Are you still experiencing the same?
Jojo Smiley
Richchad
Grafter
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: So slow off peak

Thanks Joanne, I have realised the problem is that I have exceeded my 10GB during my peak time, am now considering switching to Plusnet Extra, have another topic running for this.. http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,99974.0.html
dick:quote