cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

venquessa
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 22-01-2014

So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

Started to notice the connection getting "lumpy", so I checked the router.
I used to get 14mbit and be able to actually use about 10mbit.  Now it's 5.5mbit.
My IP Profile now says, 0.99Mb and PlusNet estimate my maximum speed to be 1.0Mb.
BT Speed test gives me 5.1Mbit / 0.99Mbit, says there is no problem, my line range is 2Mb to 7Mb!
So what changed and how do I get it changed back?
BTW, I notice my SNR on the modem is down to 6-7db.  Shouldn't that be much higher?
Paul
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

Please post the router stats
Also if you have a test socket would it be possible to post them from there as well
We need noise margin, speed and attenuation
However I suspect that you are misreading the profile
It is almost certain to be 9.9Mbps and 10Mbps not 0.99 and 1.0 as you have posted
venquessa
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

It did definitely say 0.9Mb.  The PlusNet status page STILL shows my maximum line speed as 1.0Mb
Well, I tried a different router, my Wifi access point has DSL (Linksys WAG320N).  While it has bugs which involve it crashing and rebooting if you click more than a few links on the admin pages, if left alone it usually works.
While it wouldn't authenticate, for whatever reason (LCP: timeout sending config-requests) and then the router crashed and reboot, it did sync at 12Mbit!
When I put my original NetGear DG830 back on the line it also synced at 12Mbit.
Also when I checked back to BT wholesale tester it shows:
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 10.94 Mbps

ROUTER CURRENTLY:
System Up Time 00:09:43
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 7862 9544 0 3409 21077 00:08:41
LAN 10M/100M 10490 9298 0 20136 3936 00:09:37
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 12406 kbps 1188 kbps
Line Attenuation 37.0 db 18.2 db
Noise Margin 6.1 db 6.3 db

So as long as it stays that way I'm happy.  I'm figuring the different router trigger a reassessment of my connection somewhere Smiley
Paul
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

Something is horribly adrift
There is no way you could get the speeds you did with an IP profile of 0.9Mbps
venquessa
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

I know...  but
Estimated line speed:
1.0Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2014-11-18 11:03:03
Current line speed:
5.4 Mb
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

That is different
Current Line Speed is the Plusnet copy of the IP profile
Estimated line speed - God knows where that comes from but it doesn't affect anything
Having said that - and given that the Plusnet profile takes a few hours to catch up to the BT profile - your line must have been connected at about 6.2Mbps before you rebooted the router hence the low speed test result
venquessa
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

Quote from: Oldjim
That is different
Current Line Speed is the Plusnet copy of the IP profile
Estimated line speed - God knows where that comes from but it doesn't affect anything

I think it was the other way around.  Especially as the IP Profile read 0.9Mbit this morning.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

Your profile on our side was a little bit lower than it should have been. I've fixed this for you, and if you please disconnect and reconnect, from within your router, you should get the newer speeds.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
venquessa
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

Actually, I've been silly.  My upstream IP Profile is 0.9Mbit.   I had the page in the browser cache.  Downstream was showing at 5.4Mb
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

Is it running OK now?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
venquessa
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: So my ADSL has gone nuts after years

Hi plusnettony,
Seems to be fine.
I'll keep an eye on it, but hopefully it will be grand for another few years again Smiley  Though I may for FTTC(Fibre) at some point.
Thanks for your help.
Paul