cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slowing speed

coolyazz
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 31-05-2009

Slowing speed

Ok.  I'm not sure what's going on here, but my speed has gone right down.
Last time my results were as follows:
Your DSL connection rate: 8893 kbps(DOWN-STREAM),  444 kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP profile for your line is - 6500 kbps
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 3107 kbps
This was slower than when I was on 2 meg.  Now the test shows:-
Your DSL connection rate: 3552 kbps(DOWN-STREAM),  448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP profile for your line is - 5500 kbps
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 2135 kbps
Even slower!  I'd have thought I would be getting maybe a reasonable increase in speed as I'm only 1km from the exchange.
Could someone at Plusnet please look into this?  Thanks!
10 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,214
Thanks: 1,575
Fixes: 172
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Slowing speed

[Moderator's note by Adie (Adiewoo) Split from stuck profile thread as it's not a stuck profile]

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Slowing speed

Quote
This was slower than when I was on 2 meg.

I'd hope not, given the fastest speeds you can get on 2 meg are, well, 2 meg!
Have there been any changes to your wiring at all recently?  Any deterioration in the quality of your telephone signal?  Any noise on the line when you pick up your phone?
Can you make sure that your router is plugging directly into your master socket via a filter with *all* other telephony devices removed and run the test again?  It would be even better if you could use the test socket behnid the master faceplate.
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Slowing speed

The upstream speed seem low for a ADSL2+ connection.
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: Slowing speed

can you grab your line stats please. how to get them from your router http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
Sync Speed  (Connection Speed)  
Attenuation (atten)
SNR Margin  (Noise Margin, Margin) 
errors  (if your router reports them HEC errored seconds ect)
also any info from your that might tell us what its adsl mode its syncing on.might be displayed as adsl g.dmt adsl2 ect or as number values
ADSL1    ADSL2      ADSL2+
G.992.1  G.992.3    G.992.5

also as said by itsme your upstream looks very low for adsl2/adsl2+
how long have you been on the trial? this could be case that your order was placed on capped upstream if your order was placed many months ago
coolyazz
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 31-05-2009

Re: Slowing speed

Yeah, sorry I meant 8 meg!
My router is plugging into a secondary master socket which runs straight off the incoming master socket.  No other phones attached.
I requested the upstream be limited to get a better downstream speed (This was optional when I joined the trial).
My router says the following:-
Local Tx Power: 12.1 dB
Remote Tx Power: 20.5 dB
Local Line Atten.: 34.5 dB
Remote Line Atten.: 19.0 dB
Local SNR Margin: 17.0 dB
Remote SNR Margin: 26.5 dB
Self Test: Passed
DSL Standard: ADSL2+
Profile: Main
Tx Line Rate: 444 Kbps
Rx Line Rate: 6649 Kbps
Max Attainable Line Rate(Down Stream): 11756 Kbps
Auto SRA: Disable
SRA CRC Error Rate: 1800
SRA FEC Error Rate: 60
SRA Up Shift Obs. Period: 3600 Secs
SRA Down Shift Obs. Period: 600 Secs
Power Management Mode: L2, L3 Both Allowed
CP HEC:  Local 19542543    Remote 230790  (This is the only HEC thing I can find)
BT test says the following:-
Your DSL connection rate: 6648 kbps(DOWN-STREAM),  444 kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP profile for your line is - 3000 kbps
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 103 kbps  (yes this is what it says!)
Hope this helps!
Thanks!
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Slowing speed

Why do you believe limiting your upstream speed will improve your downstream speed? Upstream speeds only effect downstream speeds if you request Annex M and currently I don't believe annex M is supported by PN.
From your stats it look like your downstream speed is also being limited. You have an attainable rate 11756kbps, and normally the Line Rate will be 80% of this which is 9404kbps. I would recommend asking PN to reset the ADSL settings to default.
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: Slowing speed

Local SNR Margin:   17.0 dB
with what looks like a target noise margin of 18db points to your line being unstable at the moment.
also as metioned there could be some crasy capping or somthing simlar effecting your downstream due to the cap on upstream. in theroy there shouldnt be but i find its best to never say never with BTw's adsl2+ at the moment
can your run routerstats and monitor your snr to see whats going on in more detail http://www.vwlowen.co.uk/internet/files.htm
there is the full and lite version the lite working better with more router models and the full
set routerstats to sample every 8 seconds with 900 plots per page is best
also set routerstats to auto save the graphs to a folder of you choice
coolyazz
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 31-05-2009

Re: Slowing speed

Hi everyone.
When I signed up for the trial, the web page said the following:-
Please note: By default we set your upload speed to "uncapped" (up to 1Mbps) however this may reduce your maximum download speed. If you would like us to fix the upload speed to 448kbps please add this as a comment in the ticket.
So that's what I did!  Maybe I've done the wrong thing?
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: Slowing speed

shouldnt do.
only annex M nicks some download bandwidth
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,452
Thanks: 791
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Slowing speed

When data is being uploaded receipt of the packets transmitted has to be acknowledged (ACK-ed), and those ACKs take up downstream bandwidth. The more data uploaded, the more ACKs there are, so technically one can say there is a cross-effect on throughput.
Whether one would notice is a moot point.
David