cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

FIXED
Railman1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 5
Registered: 28-07-2016

Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

Hi all,

Have just joined Plusnet, after abysmal service from Sky customer none service, but have I made a wrong move?

Waited the correct time for the line to be 'trained' or whatever you call it.

Rebooted router once.

Checked all wires and cables. BUT............

With Sky broadband (adsl) I was receiving 2.4 meg at the router.

With Plusnet its only 1.8 meg ? ( Plusnets own information)

With Sky 1.8 meg over wi-fi with computer in next room.

With Plusnet 1.1 meg ?

Router supplied by Plusnet is, I believe, the next model up from the old, old Sky F@astnet one, its in the same position as the old one, supplied over the same wires as the old one, plugged into the same( and only) socket as the old one?

So now cannot watch BBC iplayer, TOOOO slow.You Tube slow, Web Pages Slow.

Please tell me something is wrong at your end Plusnet.

Apart from that,Change over was as sweet as a nut, correct day,time, great help and information given at all times.Cannot fault you on customer service ........(yet)

HELPppppppppppp!!!!

9 REPLIES
geek26
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 192
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2016

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

Hi there,

whats your estimated line speed?  check here  https://www.dslchecker.bt.com 

 

hitchhiker43
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 167
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 4
Registered: 06-07-2016

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

Fix

My guess is they are playing safe and have set the target snr for your line at 9dB whereas with Sky it was running 6dB, best raise a fault ticket by answering the trick questions here and pointing this out to them along with the rate discrepancy Smiley

Tp-link W8960n on longgggggggg line!
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,770
Thanks: 345
Fixes: 136
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

Your actually on a 3db target at the moment so there aren't any restrictions holding the speed back.

At the moment your speeds are within in the estimates we gave you during sign up so our Faults team wouldn't most likely accept this as a fault.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

Edit: MW's post covers the content better.

Phil

Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
hitchhiker43
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 167
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 4
Registered: 06-07-2016

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

25% reduction in speed on same line yet Plusnet say that's not acceptable as a fault!!

Totally unjustifiable and downright laziness, I would go for breach of contract and go back to Sky.

Tp-link W8960n on longgggggggg line!
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

Perhaps I should have left my previous post in play. LLU operators tend to go for speed and ignore error rates/repeat transmissions unless they are very high/continuous, BT connections are set for stability/low error rates as default.

Phil

Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
Railman1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 5
Registered: 28-07-2016

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

BT line check is 1.5 to 3.0 ( small village way out in the sticks....last place on the line, or earth for that matter).

 

Update...... Time line: Back end of beyond....

Plusnet say they have found a fault on the line ......Stop ....... Urgent  repairs carried out immediately....Stop ......Speed should be better within seventy two hrs ....Stop.

 

 

(for gods sake stop saying STOP!!!!!....got it in before you all)

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,073
Thanks: 1,196
Fixes: 30
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

@Railman1 - Well at least you still have the Telegraph. Funny

Railman1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 5
Registered: 28-07-2016

Re: Slower Broadband with Plusnet.

Thanks to you all, for information and help. Plusnet and THE FORUM 'bandits' have once AGAIN come up trumps with their technical and customer service aid.

Speed now up to old standard and that's before the full 72 hrs is up.No line drops or 'upsets'. One very happy, new Plusnet, bunny.

 

 

Now, how are Plusnet on supplying gas to a village ( of the damned), whos council thinks technology and utilities are tools of the Devil....(even our street sweeper is dressed as cardinal from the Spanish Inquisition.) 

 

 Mook..Correct about the Telegraph, its great for lighting the coal fire.