cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speeds

kozi
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 18-01-2011

Slow speeds

Hello all,
Around 8-9 I was experiencing allot of disconnects. Thanks to Anotherone I managed to track down the problem to a phone line fault. I have ringed up BT and they have said the problem has been resolved  Smiley.
However all the disconnects have caused my speeds to slow down... and quite sharply to. In hope for the speeds to return back to normal I have waited around 4-5 days,no luck Sad. I'm not sure if I have been capped or... but I would really appreciate some help in getting the speed back up to what they use to. Last time I had my speeds capped ,JoJo kindly uncapped it and hadn't had a problem for around 8-9 months.
Speeds:
                                            downstream                    upstream
Attainable Rate (Kbps)        21292                                  888
current rate (Kbps)              6652                                    440  (dropped from around 19000 downstream and from 888 upstream)
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow speeds

I think that you will need to ask for the line to be retrained and for the upstream to be uncapped
kozi
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 18-01-2011

Re: Slow speeds

Hello,
This must sound awfully stupid but who do I actually ask from my line to be retrained? BT or PN
Also would a SNR reset increase my speeds as my noise margins are a bit high at the moment Undecided :
                                        downstream                    upstream
SNR Margin (0.1 dB): 163                                   306
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow speeds

Plusnet - either by it being picked up here or via a ticket
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Slow speeds

Hi,
Your IP profile has been banded, hence you having the slow speeds. You connection is now stable so I have placed a SNR reset on your line, this usually takes around 4 hours to take place, but can sometimes need leaving over night.
This should get you back to your usual speeds.
Let me know how you go.
Chris
kozi
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 18-01-2011

Re: Slow speeds

Hi Chris,
Its certainly past the 4 hours and nothing really has changed, i guess ill just wait overnight  Smiley
I'll let you know if anything has changed in the morning.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Slow speeds

The SNR reset has been placed, so check in the morning. and hopefully you'll see the increase.
kozi
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 18-01-2011

Re: Slow speeds

Hi chris,
Well its morning and i can safety say my sync speeds have increased  Cheesy to:
              Downstream   Upstream
Rate (Kbps): 17515               888
Downstream still not around the 19000 Kbps mark but I'm not brothered Smiley. However despite the increase in downstream sync I only get a solid 8 Mbps download speed (but I think it will pick up by itself).
After looking at my router stats I noticed that I had ALOT of HEC errors, 4294967286 to be precise.I  have no idea what HEC errors even are but I'v noticed at times I get no HEC errors and then suddenly get this number. Is this normal?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Slow speeds

Good to see that your speeds have picked up.This is a definition of HEC errors: Count of HEC Errors. HEC is a type of CRC error check which has been performed on the header of an ATM cell, but 1 bit errors can be corrected. This count is usually where HECs have been uncorrected and have been discarded.
If these errors are too high within a short period of time it will slow throughput and could even lead to connection instability.
This could be the reason your speeds haven't reached back to where they should be. You've also had a few disconnections yesterday.
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13436601472378.png" />
Have you powered your router off at all? If possible I would suggest connecting into your <a href="http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/master-socket-guide.shtml#whatsTest">test socket</a> and see if your line is any more stable there. Have you been rebooting your router at all?
If not I'd suggest raising a fault at http://faults.plus.net.