cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speeds.

MadDragon
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 07-06-2010

Slow speeds.

Hi, thankfully havent needed to come on here for quite awhile. But the slow speeds have decided to return.  Sad
I tried the usual turn off router etc to see if that'd get it going again, but no luck.
I am posting this on my nexus and the bt line test wont work (moans about not having flash), but I have the other info:
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:06:19
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 768 / 3,200
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 17.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 57.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 10.0 / 10.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,146
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
0.2 Mb
If you need the bt test I can do that. Will just take awhile setting my pc up.
Hopefully it is easily sorted and can get it back up to speed (Around 2.61 Mb) soon. Mario Kart 8 is out today and the download would probably take a year atm!  Grin
13 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Slow speeds.

Hi MadDragon,
I'm sorry to hear that your connection is so slow.
I've taken a look at your connection and I can see there's been multiple drop outs:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14014618115251.png"/>
I appreciate that some of them may be you restarting your router, however, the quality of your line is very poor which is a cause for concern. Unfortunately it's not likely that this will either fix itself or anything remote that I can do will fix it. Your line is of poor quality as the line is struggling with errors on it - I'm not sure what's causing this, it could be a fault anywhere on the BT Network, or potentially internally.
I've run a test for the copper side of things which has identified a loop issue, this can sometimes be caused by equipment. Would you be able to disconnect your router from the line so that we can retest the phone side of things to ensure it's not flagging up the wrong issue?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
MadDragon
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Slow speeds.

Yeah no problem. Ill disconnect it for an hour. Im not using the net atm apart from checking on here anyway.  Smiley
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Slow speeds.

Thanks for doing that, I've just retested and the test has passed this time.
You can connect everything back up now. Once you've done that, can you raise a fault at http://faults.plus.net please?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
MadDragon
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Slow speeds.

Im trying to raise a fault, but got to question "pick up one of your telephone handsets and listen for a few moments, what can you hear?" I dont have a working phone to plug in to test. What option should i select?
Id assume its noisey, it usually is whenever theres been a problem in the past... But dont want to say it is if it might not be.  Undecided
Twills
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: Slow speeds.

Hi MadDragon,
Your line is showing a short circuit. Best course of action, unplug everything from your socket. If you have a modern style master socket (NTE5) please remove the bottom half of the faceplate, its held on by 2 screws and raise the fault as line is noisy. If your in a position to contact technical support and they can re-test straight away otherwise complete the fault form and we can pick it up for you tomorrow.
Twills.
MadDragon
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Slow speeds.

Short circuit doesnt suprise me lol. Every time my internet starts playing up it seems to always be after we have had heavy rain...
Ill try finishing off the fault thing. I dont have a way to contact anyone apart from emails etc.
I have an old thomson router somewhere which i'll try meanwhile to see if that makes any difference.
MadDragon
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Slow speeds.

I've filled in the fault thing. I also found my other router and tried that and am getting the same speeds, so the router seems fine.
Twills
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: Slow speeds.

Good morning MadDragon,
Picked up the fault for you, line is still testing as having a short circuit at the property (this is anything between the distribution pole outside the house right up to the router) Ive updated the fault ticket with how I would need to proceed. Basically a re-test of the line with absolutely nothing connected to your phone socket and if you have a modern master socket remove the bottom half of the faceplate. If this is the only communication just give me a 1 hour time slot where you can do that and I will test within that hour and get back to you.
Twills.
MadDragon
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Slow speeds.

Hi, I'll disconnect everything now. I already have the faceplate off (I took that off last night when trying out my other router). Beings I wont be able to check on here until my router is plugged back in, I'll leave it unplugged for a couple of hours to make sure I don't interrupt any testing.  Smiley
Ps. Last time my internet messed me about and you sent someone out to fix it they replaced the wiring etc in the house (dunno if that info helps you or not, lol).
Twills
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: Slow speeds.

Issue is still present so it is not caused by internal wiring or equipment Smiley This needs an engineer. can you update your fault ticket with your availability please? Slots are 0800-1300 and 1300-1800 Monday to Friday. First slot Wednesday AM.
Twills.
MadDragon
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Slow speeds.

I've updated the ticket. Unfortunately it'll have to be a Thursday, I'm out Wednesday.
If any slots open up on a Monday or Tuesday (am or pm) though I'm free then too.  Wink
Twills
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: Slow speeds.

All booked for Thursday 5th 0800-1300. Ill check Monday if any slots come free for Tuesday but in all honesty there won't be.
Cya Thursday and get this sorted!
Twills.
MadDragon
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Slow speeds.

Ok thanks.  Smiley