cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speeds

imposter63
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2014

Slow speeds

Having just migrated from the brilliant but now defunct ADSL24 I was getting speeds of 17-19mb but having been with plusnet for 14 days I can only get 13mb ,when will my speeds return to what they were before?
I just received a Email from Plusnet  saying
Now that your service has now been active for 14 days, we thought we'd let you
know the speed as it stands today, by way of comparison.
Estimated line speed: 18.5Mbps
Current line speed: 13Mbps
will it ever reach 18.5 Mbps ?
Please do not ask me to plug my router into the BT master socket as I have not got one ,its a very old connection box.
Thanks in advance
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow speeds

Please post the rest of the information requested here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
imposter63
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2014

Re: Slow speeds

Phone exchange:
    HOYLAKE
Estimated line speed:
    18Mb (This may vary between 17Mb and 20.5Mb) - Checked on 2014-02-18 12:02:00
Current line speed:
    13 Mb
Download speedachieved during the test was - 11.95 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 13.37 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.73Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
Upstream Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 1060 15156
Max Rate (Kbps) 1064 14228
SNR Margin (dB) 6.5 4.6
Line Attenuation (dB) 10.5 23.7
Errors (Pkts) 0 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow speeds

I would guess that your default noise margin is 6dB
it it was reduced to 3dB you might get results closer to those with ADSL24 which I assume was LLU but not the full18.5Mbps I think
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Slow speeds

I'd be happy to try your connection on 3db to try and get a little more out of your line?
Bear in mind that there is a chance this could make your connection unstable.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
imposter63
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2014

Re: Slow speeds

3db would be brilliant ,it was on 3db at ADSL24 for 3 years and was rock solid
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Slow speeds

I've just submitted through for you.
Give it 24 hours and hopefully you should notice an improvement Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
imposter63
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-03-2014

Re: Slow speeds

Thanks ,just gone straight up to 17mb .super service
racedemon
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Slow speeds

I've got related speed issues.
My DL speed has dropped since I switched off my router, the SNR has increased from 6db to around 12db. Bandwidth gone from around 14,000 kbps to 9,729 kbps.
It's been rock solid for days  when I left the router on all the time, no dropped connections or anything. Then I decided to switch it off to save electricity when out at work and switch it back on when I get home (I used to do this all the time with my previous ISP and it had no effect on the connection). I understand that the system is detecting my switching off the router as a line noise issue and trys a higher SNR to compensate and give a stable connection.
Is it possible to fix my SNR to 6db or lower please so it doesn't change when I switch my router off and on again?
In any case, please can I have my SNR reduced back to normal.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: ‎03-02-2014

Re: Slow speeds

Hi racedemon,
I've performed an SNR reset for you so you should start to see an increase in your speeds in the next 10-15 minutes. I can also see that it looks like you've turned your router off a few times over the past week and this may have caused this. You can see this here:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13948122128322.png"/>
If you have been turning the router off ensure that in the future you're going into the router settings and clicking "Disconnect" if you need to power down instead of just switching it off as this may help. The software in the exchange (DLM) picks up on this and sees this as your line disconnecting so this may cause your line profile to change.
racedemon
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Slow speeds

Thanks for the help and advice.
You say using disconnect may help. Could you please tell me if it will definately help?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: ‎03-02-2014

Re: Slow speeds

Hi racedemon,
We can't guarantee that the DLM will differentiate between you turning the router off and the line disconnecting so by clicking "Disconnect" instead of just turning the router off increases the chance of the DLM not seeing this as your line disconnecting. My advice would be to leave your router on. Smiley
racedemon
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Slow speeds

Thought so.  Roll eyes