cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

briggodear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎15-01-2013

Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

Hello all!  my exchange has been updated to ADSL2+ Cheesy according to tests on Plusnet side I sould be good for 19Mbs,................... I only get  get 7.7Mbs I have done BT wholesale test and raised the issue with the the Plusnet boys and I've been told to monitor the speed over the next few daysThen they send an engineer out ! BUT I've noticed the BT checker says my IP profile is 7.15Mbs last time I had speed issues on the line The Profile was locked/jammed at 2Mbs and needed reseting, its my understanding that I'll never get full speed until the profile is set higher ? Lips are sealed
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

Hi
Have PN moved you over to ADSL2+ yet?
Can you post your router stats?
You're understanding is correct about the IP Profile restricting your speed - just need to find out why the IP Profile is lower than expected.
briggodear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎15-01-2013

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

Hello Yes PN have moved me to ADSL+2 a few weeks ago
are this the stats your need
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 1:18:38
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 445 / 22.007
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 18,93 / 361,62
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 9,1 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 8,3 / 14,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 32,7 / 3,1
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 6 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 6
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 16
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

Well you're synced at 22Mb. If you go here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed what does is say for Current Line Speed? I think this will be the problem.
It's also worth getting your upload speed uncapped (is no extra cost for this and it will benefit you).
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

If BT speedtest reports the profile as 7.15 then the problem is there as the Plusnet profile is only updated once the BT once reports a change.
Might be worth trying a disconnect/reconnect via the router GUI, this can sometimes wake up the profile.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
briggodear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎15-01-2013

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

switched off and back on .......................no change Sad
RichardB
Pro
Posts: 415
Thanks: 131
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

Just checking...
Is the BT IP profile still stuck @ 7.15 after the re-synch?
 
briggodear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎15-01-2013

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

Yes still stuck @7.15
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

Hi, just checked and it's updated to 19400 across the board as far as we can see - please let us know if that's not the case now?
briggodear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎15-01-2013

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line


BT wholesale results as of 2 minutes ago
Download speedachieved during the test was - 7.76 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 2 Mbps-7.15 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 7.15 Mbps
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Slow speeds on upgaraded Line

Right, looks like a mismatch across the exchange kit there. One of our faults agents is getting this sorted out for you, there should be an update on your account soon.