cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

A while back, I posted RE my slow speeds and poor ping times, and the result was 'your exchange is  congested'
Well, I did some digging, and it turns out there are other users, with other isp's a few of whom this morning get 740Kbytes/sec... whilst i got an impressive 180Kbytes/sec... their pings 40ms~ mine 120ms~
Now I sync at 8Meg, Solidly, and have been assigned an exchange profile of 7150 and a pn profile of 7000kbps...
So whats the story?
Scott
P.s. Cheers for checking if there was a cease on my line James
14 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

I'm not actually sure to be honest Scott.
I've done various checks on your line in the past and none seem to indicate that there's a problem at all.  Raising a fault to BT would result in BT sending the fault back to us saying that the service is within limits.
I take it the poor speed and latency is only during peak times?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

Btw, any idea if you were on PTE-AG2 or THN-AG3?
Those have been our busier gateways over the last 48 hours with the others having barely any gold drops at all.
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

The latency, yes, the speed, no speed testing from BT, the highest ive ever achieved is 2.8Mbit... but I find it odd that people on the same exchange (so eliminating the exchange as a factor) dont have the same issue, thats what confuses me..
Bear in mind its the line belonging to dscentral, not mcgurka, or dscentral2
Edit> Currently connected to thn-ag3, but have been on Ag1, and city lifeline all with the same problems.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

I imagine that it is possible that those people may be connected to a different DSLAM.
I'll get someone to have a play around with your Ellacoya profile to see if it makes any difference.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

Scott,
Did you ever try your RIN connection to see if it made any difference?
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

i did give it a try, i will dig out the results. I will also try another router just in case two have been causing problems.
Scott
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

Hohum, did somebody play with my ellacoya stuff today... since im now upto 6megs at peak time as well!
*confused*

8:30pm and back to 2 again Sad
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

Didnt touch it.
You said you were going to try out a new router so I've avoided Ellacoya changes.
Does sound like it could be exchange related though.
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

seems  to happen both on and off RIN as well, howcome I can see other users who can get high speeds, but I dont seem to be able to?
Ianwild
Grafter
Posts: 3,835
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

It could be two things as far as I'm concerned:
1. Something local - MTU tweaking no longer optimum or a specific line problem.
2. Contention on one exchange VP and not another. Bear in mind, all users on the same exchange are not served by the same capacity, and it is perfectly normal where there is exchange contention for it to only affect some users.
All I can say for sure is if the problem is apparent on RIN too, it bypasses our network entirely so it does back-up one of the above two things I guess.
Ian
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

ok, I've got a nice graph of the line over the last 24 hours, which I will dump up later on.
I know for 2mb products, specifically business, if the line rate was not above a certain rate (1Mbit) for greater than 90% of the time... it is classed as as fault, and can be booked, regardless of contention...
So what is the absolute maximum 90% slow speed for a business line, synching at 8megs? and dont tell me its 400kbit.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

It's 400Kbps.
But I want to try something first.
Was it dscentral?
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

yep, sure was.
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Slow speeds... contention, it isnt looking like it..

james, did you manage to get any further with your request?