cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speed

greengiant47
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-04-2011

Slow speed

Hi,
I've been through the "how to diagnose" advice and tested everything that the help pages have suggested, but I'm still having problems. (I raised a question with tech support, ref. 40808537)
About 3 weeks ago, the connection dropped - restarted the router a few times, didn't re-connect. Left it for 2 days, then reset the router to factory settings and set everything up from scratch. This time the connection came back but it's been *very* slow since then. Not sure if the router had anything to do with it - the settings I re-typed were the same as before anyway.
I've been through the help steps; disconnected all the phones/Sky box/etc, plugged the router into the master socket - no change. Opened that up, plugged directly into the test socket - could no longer connect at all (does this mean anything??). Put everything back as it was, and it's working as before (connected straight away as soon as I moved the router to it's usual room/phone socket and switched back on), but just as slow as it was before. No difference if the phone is plugged in or not. I've attached today's BT speed test; but I couldn't do the final stage after this one, it just wouldn't connect.
One last thing - I also went through the toubleshooter at "faults.plus.net", but didn't submit the final page (I wanted to see if anything comes up here first, before they send someone out). It said something like "our records show your connection has dropped 2+ times a day recently" and goes on to ask questions about the router ADSL light blinking or staying on. I haven't noticed the connection dropping; but then I am out at work all day. Is this important?
Please could you look into this? Not sure if the problem is anything to do with my wiring/setup (although nothing has changed, so not sure why it's suddenly slowed down now) or something at your/BT's end?
Thanks!
7 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,136
Thanks: 546
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Slow speed

The settings in the router screen shot show you have an idle time-out setting of 5 minutes. That will most likely cause big trouble - the connection will appear to be unstable and the DLM will drop the sync speed as it has done.
The router needs to be set to "always on"; ticking the "keep alive" radio button should do that (though why it says Re-dial period alongside that button puzzles me). If stability returns once that is done sync speed should increase in time though help from Plusnet might might speed things up. They might require you to complete a fault report as part of doing that. They will send someone out only if initial testing shows that is needed.
David
greengiant47
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-04-2011

Re: Slow speed

Thanks for spotting that - I've changed it to "keep alive", redialing every 30 seconds
I guess I have to wait a few days now for the connection to gradually adjust itself up? Will I start to see a difference in a few hours' time or is it normally longer?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,136
Thanks: 546
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Slow speed

I think the DLM has put you on a 160-288kbps banded profile (the lowest one) and until the DLM relaxes that, automatically or with Plusnet's help, you are in for a frustrating experience with low speeds. In either case the thing that will lead to change is no disconnections, so resist the temptation to restart the router, doing so would probably have the opposite effect from the intended one. Leave it on 24x7.
The DLM might change things after 3 days or so, and Plusnet might be able to intervene after the same time-scale. I don't think they have a button to press, it requires contact with a specialist at BT who might say "no".
If there have been no further disconnections I suggest posting in this thread again on Tuesday afternoon.
David
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow speed

HI greengiant47,
It does appear that your idle timeout was causing this. I will apply for the banding to be removed because of this.
Jojo Smiley
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow speed

Hi greengiant47,
The banding has removed and your profile is now 6000k, there are however some errors showing so don't be surprised if that settles a bit lower.
Jojo Smiley
greengiant47
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-04-2011

Re: Slow speed

Another case of 'user error' solved  Wink I'll not be making that mistake again!
Jojo - thanks for changing that so quickly. router's reading 7000 Kbps downstream so everything's back to normal
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow speed

Great news, glad I could help Smiley