cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow line speed

jay3779
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-09-2012

Slow line speed

Hello community!
I need max possible upload speed to qualify for an online tuition job...they require min. 500 kbps(0.5Mbps) but I can manage only half that on a good day sometimes.
My stats (thomson  speedtouch router)...
Link Information
Uptime: 5 days, 21:32:05
Modulation: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3,200
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 741.60 / 548.70
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 18.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 27.5 / 50.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.0 / 9.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 6,080 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 198,747,296
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 448,132
HEC Errors (Up/Down):
btspeedtester shows 0.26 (tested from master socket)(image attached)
all help appreciated, thanks in advance
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow line speed

The first question is whether your exchange is 21CN enabled - if it is you can ask to be transferred to it with an uncapped upstream - check here http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/
If you run the diagnostic BT speed test does it do an upstream speed test - if it does then you are on 21CN ADSL1 and you can ask for the upstream to be uncapped.
If 21CN isn't available on your exchange then you would need to ask to go onto Max Premium http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/products/max_premium.shtml
Alternatively - and this is heresy - have a look here and see if there are any LLU suppliers on your exchange as they should give you a higher upload speed http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_search
Obviously the best result is that your exchange is 21CN enabled and then you could ask to be transferred to ADSL2 on it with an uncapped upstream
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,815
Thanks: 1,995
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Slow line speed

You also have the option of paying for max premium on adsl1 which gives you a higher upload.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

jay3779
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-09-2012

Re: Slow line speed

thanks, both. It's no to 21CN, other LLUs, but yes to max premium.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Slow line speed

Just thought I'd give your order a little nudge, I've placed it manually for you so you should have Max Premium tomorrow. Smiley
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
jay3779
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-09-2012

Re: Slow line speed

thanks, Adam. Tested this evening, and I'm now getting 0.69mbits/s.
adie:quote
jay3779
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-09-2012

Re: Slow line speed

Remove Max Premium Please
Reason: No longer required for my work
thanks in advance
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow line speed

I suggest raising a ticket - it may be that the change my product route will do it
As described here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,109593.0.html you may want to ask how he did it
jay3779
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-09-2012

Re: Slow line speed

thanks, Oldjim. I was baffled by the choice of routes. Maybe I will post in the thread you suggest as it doesn't specifically state where to raise a ticket.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Slow line speed

Hi jay3779,
I've removed max premium from your account, you will no longer be charged for this service although it will take several days for the max premium to be removed from your line, so you'll still receive the higher upload speeds for a short while.