cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow but steady

jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Slow but steady

hi , a couple of months ago i had a speed problem and line was dropped often. I  raised a fault and it was looked at and it seemed to have sorted itself and line drops seem a thing of the past . My router tells me i'm connected at 1.6 mbps and when i run a test i get a speeds of about 1.4 mbps . I left router connected for a week and done the disconnect , then the re-connect to see if speeds would improve but they have not .Could my profile be increased or is there some thing else that could be done
I've done all the usual tests and all seems fine
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Slow but steady

Hi, to be honest, if your router reports a sync speed around 1.6 and you're getting a throughput of 1.4 then you're doing about as well as can be epected since there are 'overheads' of nearly 12% to be deducted from the sync.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Re: Slow but steady

I've got neighbours although they with different suppliers , getting a lot better speeds than me . and when my problems of line drops were solved i was getting higher speeds myself , but speeds have dropped over time
jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Re: Slow but steady

and my router used to sync at 2.4 a couple of months ago
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Slow but steady

You'd need to provide line statistics from your router in order to determine what may be possible regarding an improvement in sync speed, if you can post the router make and model then someone should be able to advise how to get the relevant stats (unless you already know how to get these).  Is the router connected to the master telephone socket and is this the type with a 'split' faceplate?  Do you have any extension wiring or sockets?  Is the telephone free from buzzing / crackling?
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Re: Slow but steady

router is a netgear DG834g with the latest firmware and is connected directly to the test socket and phone line is clear as a bell ..... Smiley
jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Re: Slow but steady

Router Status
 
Account Name DG834Gv5
Firmware Version  V1.6.01.34
 
ADSL Port 
MAC Address <snip>
IP Address  91.125.98.154
Network Type  PPPoA
IP Subnet Mask  255.255.255.255
<snip>
Domain Name Server
212.159.6.9
212.159.6.10

 
LAN Port
MAC Address  <snip>
IP Address  192.168.0.1
DHCP  ON
IP Subnet Mask  255.255.255.0
 
Modem 
ADSL Firmware Version E.25.41.64 A 
Modem Status connected
DownStream Connection Speed 1600 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
VPI 0
VCI 38
 
Wireless Port 
MAC Address <snip>
Name (SSID) <snip>
Region Europe
Channel 3 (Auto)
Wireless AP ON
Broadcast Name ON
[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim)  connection identification removed mod:end
 
 
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Slow but steady

You almost got the right info, but it's not this screen-full. As you can see a moderator has remove your current IP address for protection of your privacy.
You need to Click on the "Show Statistics" button and the page you want will contain Attenuation and Noise Margin as well as the Connection Speed. Alternatively this link should work http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?next_file=stattbl.htm
jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Re: Slow but steady

Oopps did'nt think about ip bit

Port      Status  TxPkts  RxPkts      Collisions    Tx B/s  Up Time 
WAN    PPPoA  14848  15218  0  40  95  10:02:46 
LAN  100M/Full  148792  140509  0  430  375  10:02:58 
WLAN 11M/54M 372468 234674 0 12687 689 10:03:19

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 1600 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
Noise Margin 9.5 db 10 db
I've copy and paste so hope you can make sense without the grid  Smiley
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow but steady

Hi jerryjones,
I've just run some tests and it seems like something happened a couple of days ago to increase your SNR, which has subsequently brought the sync speed down. Can you think of anything that might have caused it, because tests indicate some interference at the premises.
Jojo Smiley
jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Re: Slow but steady

Hi I don't know of any thing that has happened and over the last seven days I had no break in connection at all . The only time I,ve broke connection was about 2 days ago and I went into router and used the dis connect to try to re sync to up my speed
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow but steady

Have you got another router you can try?
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Slow but steady

I think actually having re-read the OP, the recent variations on the screen-shot are just the normal day to day variations. The target would have been raised (to 9 I'd guess) prior to the 28th June as a result of the previous fault. If that has now been cured, then perhaps a line reset would be in order.
I'd fully expect a Netgear to readily handle those sort of daily variations.
jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Re: Slow but steady

I don't have a spare router to try . I don't know if it's connected  but my month starts on the 24 th and this month I increased my usage from 10 gb to 60 gb
jerryjones
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 02-07-2012

Re: Slow but steady

Hi , just wondering what do you think I should do next ? Should I try another router or should I raise a fault and see what happens  Shocked