cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

smizit
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Hi there - pls can anyone tell how I can get my IP profile speed updated. Currently my line runs consistently at 2.7mb as opposed to the 11mb it is capable of, or the range of 6-10mb I should be expecting.
I have attached a screenshot of the BT diagnostics as well as the capability of my line.
If it helps to post router stats I can do so too.

Thanks so much in advance!
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Please post the stats from your router - speeds, noise margin and attenuation
smizit
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Thanks for replying Jim - I hope this is what you mean attached.
I have the Technicolor router

Uptime: 0 days, 1:01:50
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 3.148
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 44,74 / 293,64
Internet Connection OK
Internet

Type: PPPoA
Uptime: 0 days, 1:01:43
IP Address: 87.113.47.37
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 38,68 / 258,82
smizit
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 1:08:22
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 3.148
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 45,57 / 302,09
Just in case I missed anything out. The above is after clicking 'more'. Thanks!
smizit
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Use this link which will take to the details we need http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/dsl/dt/?be=0&l0=2&l1=0
Alternatively - against DSL Connection click on View More then Details
This is what we need - taken from my line
Link Information

Uptime: 13 days, 21:58:46
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 864 / 4.192
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 1,26 / 1,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,6 / 19,4
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 26,5 / 49,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 10,0 / 4,9
smizit
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Voila! Here we go Jim, thanks:
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:12:26
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 3.148
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 6,72 / 53,72
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 13,0 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 18,7 / 33,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 29,4 / 9,4
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 18 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 2 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 22 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

I won't swear - honest really - but something has gone badly adrift
Can you connect the router to the test socket - the one behind the lower part of the master socket - and report the stats again
If you aren't sure what I am talking about have a read here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
smizit
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Oh dear... Jim you are totally on-point! Connecting to the master socket makes my speed shoot up to 9mb.
Although we have found the problem, it means that every slave socket that I could have connected tidily to, is duff!
The master which is in the middle of the lounge and would mean trailing wires etc is my only viable option I guess. It's a new house we've moved to and the previous owners have got botched BT wiring I guess.
I'm wondering if getting a Powerline adaptor into the master and then the adaptor into a slave to which I connect the router (tidily) can solve the problem.

In any case thank you very much for the pointers. I may try the powerlines from a shop where I can return if needed, and drop a line here with the result if others have the same prob.
cheers - smizit 
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

You could check the wiring for all the slave sockets to try and sort out the problem with the internal wiring - not a job for the faint hearted
A few questions
Was that result at the master socket or the test socket behind it
What devices do you connect to the router
Are you happy that the only phone would be in the lounge at the master/test socket
The powerline adapter works a bit different to your assumption - it is between the router and the computer
smizit
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Hi Jim it was the test socket behind.
Weirdly every slave is around 2.75mb except the main bedroom which runs at 7/8mb odd, which I think is good enough for me to tuck the router behind the bed headboard.
The wiring is defintely weird as the Virgin guy swore the bedroom was the master and had wired their pathetic Fibre accordingly (It ran consistenly at 1mb, which i why i gave up after 2wks and I am on Plusnet BB!!) 
What devices do you connect to the router? I just have my ipad and iphone and my wife's two I gadgets as well. Only my laptop is connected currently and during testing.
I had a look at the wireless powerlines but as you say I need the router plugged in to the master regardless. Maybe I can call someone in to wire the masterunder the floorboard and outside the house into the boxroom with CAT5 or something.
It requires some thinking, at least now I have suficient net speed to be able to research this properly!! :-)
thanks again!
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

make sure that the router has plenty of airflow otherwise it could get a bit hot
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,542
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

@smizit
How are things going with the new set up?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Quote from: smizit

The wiring is defintely weird as the Virgin guy swore the bedroom was the master and had wired their pathetic Fibre accordingly (It ran consistenly at 1mb, which i why i gave up after 2wks and I am on Plusnet BB!!)   

I have a bit of concern about this, was the Virgin Fibre a cable based service (not using a BT line)?  If you have Virgin in a cabled area then you would normally have a separate master socket for the incoming VM line, if this is the case this should never be connected (directly or indirectly) to a BT master.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
smizit
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎15-06-2013

Re: Slow broadband - updating my IP Profile speed

Correct, my wife was home at the time, and instead of wiring in a separate socket he chopped the wire going into the BT socket in the bedroom which he said was the master and wired in the Virgin service. In a way I didnt mind, because having 4 or 5 slave boxes, they instantly moved to my Virgin phone number without extra work.
Similarly when I went back to BT after those 2wks, I phoned Virgin and told them what had been done and the guy came round and reconnected the wire (albeit in a botchjob way with insulating tape and a plastic connector box!)