cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?

gimmon
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-05-2012

Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?

Hi,
My ADSL2+ line has (what appears to me) good stats (Sync 19.5 Mb/s - Attenuation 15 db - Noise Margin 3 db)
BT IP Profile 17.3 Mb
but
PN IP 8Mb
Something awry, surely.
Any suggestions welcome, please.
Adam
44 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Hi gimmon,
Your Plusnet profile is 17300 and has been since the 24th March. I think you're looking at the line speed estimate (which will have been based on the speed before your upgrade) rather than the current line speed which is the speed you will get up to now.
Jojo Smiley
gimmon
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-05-2012

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Jojo, thanks - you're really working around the clock here!
I see what you mean, but I'm just trying to fathom the reason for the really slow throughput (never more than 8 to 9 Mb/s -  even on BT speedtester.  Just tried iPlayer tester and streaming average is 2Mb/s.
Thanks again.
[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim):  Full quote of preceding post removed, as per Forum Rules ]
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

How do you connect to the router, wired or wireless?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
gimmon
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-05-2012

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Jelv,
Thanks, and I see your line of thought.
I am using a wired connection (wireless router, but wireless access point turned off).
Regards,
G.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Hi gimmon,
I've just run some other checks that would normally show problems with the issue you're reporting but they're all passing fine. What router are you using?
Jojo Smiley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,541
Thanks: 1,542
Fixes: 101
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Moderator's Note
Posts split off into new thread to help with a solution.
Also thread title changed to avoid confusion between two topics.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

gimmon
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-05-2012

Re: *21CN ONLY* Do you think your PN profile is not updating as it should?

Hi Jojo,
I'm using a Netgear DG834G V2 (actually, two of them).
Would you agree that my sync rate and line stats *ought* to yield faster BT speedtester results?
When the results appear, the page has a footnote that states that 'another service' is active on my line. Is that significant?  I also had a indicative line quality come back as Red.
Cheers,
G
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?

Hi gimmon,
IIRC the additional service on your line is just something to do with BT vision availability and has no bearing on your broadband connection. I see you ran a BT speed test which you achieved 9Mbps. Is the speed always like this or only certain times of the day.
Jojo Smiley
gimmon
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-05-2012

Re: Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?

Hi Jojo,
I have run BT speedtests at various times of the day over the past two weeks. I have never had a result better than 9Mb/s.
Cheers,
G
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?

Hi gimmon,
Have you had the same results with both routers? Every test I run is coming back ok. If you have had the same results with both routers then raise a fault and we'll take it from there. I'm sure we'll get to the bottom of it for you.
Jojo Smiley
gimmon
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-05-2012

Re: Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?

Morning Jojo,
Same result with both routers. I've just (09:06 10/05/2012) run another BT speedtest:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 8.97 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 17.39 Mbps
Unfortunately, I raised a ticket last week [number  54969776] but I'm basically being told my service is performing as expected Sad  and I was hoping the forum would help.
Regards,
Adam
x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Registered: 14-08-2009

Re: Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?


If it was only at certain times for certain durations particularly at night  - I'd have said it was CRC errors on the line - which might not have been enough in magnitude or duration to warrant a re-sync lower, but would severely affect the throughput as the router would have been continually asking the exchange DSLAM to re-send the corrupted packets.
I've never really understood the whole business of MTU issues/settings in router/modem/computer and how this might limit download speed.
A continually achieved tested download of 9K compared to an IP setting of 17K really does sound like some sort of fault somewhereand not "performing as expected".
I'd be interested to learn what was the problem/solution......
gimmon
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-05-2012

Re: Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?

x47c, yes, I think I'm in the twighlight zone with this in that the line is performing within tolerance but not as would be expected.  If there's a solution or even a root cause identified outside the thread, I'll post back.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow Throughput - PN profile Maybe?

Hi gimmon,
Is your router directly connected to the PC, no switches or anything in between? Is it a laptop or PC? What speed testers have you used?
Jojo Smiley