cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Speeds

paolow
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎19-06-2014

Slow Speeds

Ive just had plusnet up to 16mb set up at my house. I have confirmed that my estimated speed range should be between 12.5Mbps -16Mbps and my estimated download speed should be 15Mbps. I have spoken to plusnet who ran a test on my line and confirmed that it is syncing with my modem at 17mb. My actual real world download speeds are 2.0Mbps down and 0.34Mbps up. Can anybody help me with this? My BT performance tests are below. Thanks in advance.

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
2.01 Mbps

0 Mbps 4 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 2.01 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 1.2 Mbps-4 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 2.9 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.35 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.45 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.35Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.45 Mbps
44 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speeds

we need the stats from your router - this explains http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
paolow
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎19-06-2014

Re: Slow Speeds

Hi Oldjim,
Im using a bt voyager 190 modem to connect to my cisco e4200. When i connect directly to the modem i get the below results:
DSL Line Speed (Kbps)
up 443

down 4163
Line Attenuation (dB)
up 11.4

down 22.5
SN Margin (dB)
up 19.2

down 28.4
Output Power (dBm)
up 9.9

down 0.0
Lost Framing
Local 0

Remote 0
Signal
Local 0

Remote 0
Power
Local 0

Remote 0
Link
Local 0

Remote 0
Errors FEC
up 0

down 0
CRC
up 85

down 0
HEC
up 0

down 0
Total Error Seconds
up 0

down 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speeds

I assume that you have just connected directly to the modem
Did you disconnect the modem when you did this causing a resync and if not how long has it been connected
Basically something is badly wrong
DSL Line Speed (Kbps) up 443  down 4163
Line Attenuation (dB) up 11.4  down 22.5
SN Margin (dB) up 19.2  down 28.4
From the above either your line is banded http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/broadband_terminology.shtml but given the sync speed that seems a little unlikely given that your speed is in the middle of a band or there was a problem when it last resynched which has cleared
Do you have a master socket with a removable lower faceplate - if so can you connect the modem to the connection behind it it and report the stats again
Are you sure that everything attached to the phone line including Sky box is filtered
paolow
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎19-06-2014

Re: Slow Speeds

Yes ive connected directly to the modem and restarted it. The modem is connected to the master socket with no filter. I dont have sky as i use freeview.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speeds

What do you mean - no filter
Do you have a filtered faceplate
paolow
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎19-06-2014

Re: Slow Speeds

its connected directly to the master socket via a cable that has a phone socket connector at one end and an rj11 at the other
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speeds

Do you have anything else connected to the phone line and can you try the test socket behind the removable lower section
paolow
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎19-06-2014

Re: Slow Speeds

nope. will test socket now
paolow
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎19-06-2014

Re: Slow Speeds

ive just tested connected to the socket behind the removable lower section and these are my results:

Modem Sync Time 00d:00h:00m:36s
DSL Line Speed (Kbps)
up 443

down 3055
Line Attenuation (dB)
up 11.4

down 22.5
SN Margin (dB)
up 16.5

down 30.0
Output Power (dBm)
up 9.9

down 0.0
Lost Framing
Local 0

Remote 0
Signal
Local 1

Remote 0
Power
Local 0

Remote 0
Link
Local 0

Remote 0
Errors FEC
up 0

down 0
CRC
up 32

down 0
HEC
up 0

down 0
Total Error Seconds
up 0

down 1
Power
Local 0

Remote 0
Link
Local 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speeds

and that is worse
do you have a  filter which you can try with a different connecting cable
paolow
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎19-06-2014

Re: Slow Speeds

jim......i dont have any other cables or a filter at the moment as i have just moved house
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speeds

The basic situation is that something is screwing up your connection - what I don't know
Although BT Openreach won't accept a fault report until the 10 day training period is up I would still advise raising a speed fault here https://faults.plus.net as their testing may spot a problem
The reason I suggested a filter with a short standard cable is that the cable may have been damaged
paolow
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎19-06-2014

Re: Slow Speeds

Ive just connected with a new filter and rj11 cable and the speeds are still the same! Im pretty lost with what to do now. Ive raised a fault via the link you provided oldjim. Is there anyway plusnet reps on the forum can help?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: ‎03-02-2014

Re: Slow Speeds

HI paolow,
I've had a look at your account and the fault hasn't been raised. Can you go through the troubleshooter again please and raise this? - http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/bbfaults/
As Oldjim has pointed out - if our Faults team can't pick anything up from their testing they may advise that you wait until the 10 day training period has passed to see if your line will sort itself out.