cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Speed!

Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Slow Speed!

I am getting around 0.6mb on my computer, and my router is reporting 1.1mb. But why am I still getting such slow speeds, even though I am on 21cn ADSL2? My friend recently got some free upgrade work by bt, and has gone up from 1mb to 3mb! Is there anything that can be done to mine?
24 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speed!

Post your full router stats - noise margin, attenuation and speeds - then we might have a better idea
Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Slow Speed!

Could you tell me how? Through the BT speedtester?
Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Slow Speed!

Ok, right I found it:
                                        Downstream  Upstream
Connection Speed 1151 kbps 762 kbps
Line Attenuation 59.0 db 37.2 db
Noise Margin 7.6 db 6.0 db
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speed!

You should be seeing better speeds than that.
Can you try the test socket and report back
Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Slow Speed!

I would if I could. I have a plain master socket, probably ancient, no split line across.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speed!

Do you have any other sockets in the property or only the incoming socket
Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Slow Speed!

We have 2 sockets, with the downstairs one being the one from the telephone line, and the upstairs, where the router is, an extension.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speed!

Can you try the router on the downstairs socket
Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Slow Speed!

Will do. But first, which DNS should I use, OpenDNS or Plus net ones? If Plus net, which servers, because I can't find the current/latest ones.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow Speed!

It doesn't matter as that isn't your problem (I use Google as the primary 8.8.8.8 and Plusnet as the secondary 212.159.13.50)
Just leave your router setting as at present
Apprentice
Grafter
Posts: 614
Registered: 04-11-2008

Re: Slow Speed!

Some UK DNS servers > > > link
Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Slow Speed!

I can't plug it into downstairs until tomorrow. I've got to unplug the router from the scramble of wires  Cheesy
Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Slow Speed!

Could it be moving to ADSL2+? I just checked my Speedtest.net past results, and it drops from 1.1mb in February last year, to 0.7mb in March. Seems about the time when I switched over. Maybe someone could check this for me?
Habylab
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Slow Speed!

Any help, please?