cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Slow unable to use

stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Thank  you

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,349
Thanks: 2,564
Fixes: 414
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Glad to hear your speed has improved!

No problems. Just out of interest, what was the call with the adviser about?

I don't believe there would've been any ill intent with moving the SNR upwards.

Generally a 3db target can cause issues but in your case it looks like to be a good thing. Thumbs Up

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

As my slow slow is still open, I had a query about my payment which was overcharged due to the line rental in advance , He said it wasn't and I should phone I pointed out his mistake with invoice numbers and then he said he had readjusted my line as he had tested it again  I am to get a credit for the overcharge Thank you

stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Summarysnr low for the legnth of lineso i have increased this 
I will look into the customer service issue to try and resolve 





Kind regards,

[CSA Removed]

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): CSA name(s) removed (to an area staff can see) as per Forum rules.

richi
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 112
Thanks: 63
Fixes: 2
Registered: 17-11-2017

Re: Slow Slow unable to use


@Gandalf wrote:

Here's a copy of our test results:

I just went back to @Gandalf's reply from a few weeks back. I noticed what looks like a capped or banded upstream (assuming the ADSL2+ notation is correct): 13 dB margin vs. 6 dB target.

 

 

I doubt this is causing the problem, but would it hurt to uncap it?

 

 

xDSL Status Test Summary
Sync Status: Circuit In Sync
General Information
NTE Status: NTE Power Status: PowerOn Bypass Status:
Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 43.7 69.0
SNR Margin: 13.4 3.1
Errored Seconds: 0 1
HEC Errors: 0
Cell Count: 0 0
Speed: 446 2353
Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 1728 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 1382
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 86400 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 46800
Indicative Line Quality: G Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 6686
Profile Info: WBC 160K - 24M Medium delay (INP 1) 3dB Downstream, 448 Low delay (INP 0) 6dB Upstream (ADSL2+)

 


 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,349
Thanks: 2,564
Fixes: 414
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Thanks for spotting this @richi

From what I can see the circuit is provisioned on an uncapped upstream so it's possible it's being capped by DLM.

I've made the change now and looks like the upstream sync rate is now 745kbps but it's pushed the downstream down to 2118kbps. Happy to cap your upstream speed again if you want @stathe?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Thanks for your help I dont understand  you     but it is working reasonably just below 2 Thank  you I would of course like it faster bur realise the long line prevents it

Highlighted
bmc
Pro
Posts: 877
Thanks: 173
Fixes: 6
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Not that it helps with current problems but have you tried the following to see if anything is planned for your location.

https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/index.do

 

Brian

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,401
Thanks: 243
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Hi  stathe

 

I'm just doing a bit of follow-up on this and it looks like the changes Anoush made to your connection did the trick and I'm seeing the same speeds he mentioned on results of a line test that I've just performed. 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

I have been away for a few days and switched off the router now the little speed I had is gone it is about 1.1 and was 1.6  8 or9

Which was acceptable  If you look at my previous notes here you will see please dont raise the noise margin as I have had ,as I say acceptable with it below 3 

stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

greatly improved overnight thank you

stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Unfortunately my speed is on the decline again almost unuseable

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 306
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 15
Registered: 22-01-2018

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Sorry to hear this @stathe.

 

I've checked the connection this side and it looks like the signal strength for your line is set too low which explains the reduction in your speed.

The good news is it's a fairly easy fix and I have placed an order to up your signal strength which should complete in the next hour. If you then turn the router off and then on again in an hour or later the connection should be back to normal for you.

 

Please get back to us if you need any further assistance.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 SammyM
 Plusnet Help Team
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Slow Slow unable to use

Unfortunately this is worse my router says   

RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 2015 2037 0 2320 4721 00:01:13
LAN1 Link down 4754 4022 0 6881 2704 00:03:18
LAN2 100M/Full
LAN3 1000M/Full
LAN4 Link down
WLAN b/g/n 145M 2580 2270 0 4669 2716 00:02:48
WLAN a/n 300M 1168 304 0 1195 333 00:02:41

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Link Rate 1610 Kbps 745 Kbps
Line Attenuation 70.5 dB 45.1 dB
Noise Margin 9.6 dB 6.4 dB