cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow - No apparent reason

gardenbod
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 28-03-2011

Slow - No apparent reason

My previous provider (Bethere) for a year reliably connected with 6 to 6.4 meg download and 0.9 to 1 meg upload. whether or not I switched to Thompson Gateway router off.
Now I keep the Plusnet Thompson Gateway router on all the time, for the 12 days that I have been with Plusnet. However the connection speed is very disappointing; It started at 5.8 meg down and 379 kb/s up and fell steadily to a low of 2.2 meg down on Sunday, recovering to 3.2 meg down on Sunday evening.
Unless somebody has interfered with the line, nothing else has changed. Has someone pinched the '+' from my ADSL+  Smiley
I could use some help in sorting this out.
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Question: "Slow - No apparent reason"
Answer: DLM (present on PN, absent on Be)
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,455
Thanks: 794
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

If you post your Thomson router stats, which can be displayed using this direct link, it will give information that helps forum members provide more informed comment.
Drag the mouse over the full set of headings and numbers from Uptime to the end of HEC Errors to select them, copy and paste into a reply. Cool
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

The results of a BT Speed Test alongside the router stats would also be very illuminating.  Wink
Your upload speed is lower than with Be because that is how PN configure it on ADSL2+ (i.e. similar to ADSL1).
I believe they can "uncap" that if it's required to give you (probably) around 1meg upload , but I don't know what the "rules" are around that.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Hi gardenbod,
What's your set up like? Are you using an extension socket/cable? Can you plug into the test socket?
Jojo Smiley
gardenbod
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 28-03-2011

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Thanks for responses.
I am not too bothered about the upload speed
Below, find router stats, speed test results.
Connecting the router to the main bt socket is not practical as it is in the loft and my wired desktop won't reach. However, previous tests using a borrowed, wired, laptop showed no speed difference.
Note comment in my first post; 'nothing else has changed'. Same filter, connecting cord, similar router, etc.
I hope this helps:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 1:22:45
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode: Fast
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 968 / 4,096
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 4,096
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 0.00 / 2.99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.5 / 38.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.0 / 15.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 3,997,638 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 4,063,193 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,248
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 318
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BT speed check result:        Failed (again)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
mybroadbandspeed results today
Date                 Download Speed               Upload Speed
Today 19:39 2937 kbps (367kB/s) 382 kbps (47.8kB/s)
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Hi gardenbod,
the increased noise margin will have shave up to 2.5Mbps off your sync rate, so that won't help. Maybe there's some new interferrence that is causing this. If  you can't work it out then I would raise a fault
Jojo Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Quote from: gardenbod

DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A

Surprised no-one noticed that!  Lips are sealed
There's the reason, it's NOT ADSL2+, it's plain old ADSL.
Over to Plusnet methinks, is this "supposed" to be a "plus" line or not?  Huh
Also, the speed of 4096 as BOTH actual AND maximum smells of something - banding maybe?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,455
Thanks: 794
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Quote from: gardenbod
Connecting the router to the main bt socket is not practical as it is in the loft and my wired desktop won't reach. However, previous tests using a borrowed, wired, laptop showed no speed difference.

When you did those previous tests did you check the router stats or just run a speed test and find there was no difference?
If it's the latter then what you found is to be expected since your IP Profile and Member Centre Current line speed have to increase before a speed tester will show different results. That can take 3-5 days. However router stats show any improvements instantly..
David
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Quote from: HPsauce
Also, the speed of 4096 as BOTH actual AND maximum smells of something - banding maybe?

Banding only applies to ADSL2+
Jojo Smiley
gardenbod
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 28-03-2011

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

That's the main problem then! ADSL with no '+'.
Lets leave this for now while I get onto Plusnet.
Strange that the service started out with 588 kb/s download, I must have been downgraded after a few days.
Thanks all.
Ian = gardenbod
sterothery
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 11-02-2011

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

when i first joined plusnet i wasn't automatically put on the 21CN network (ADSL2+) i had to raise a ticket and request it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Quote from: Joanne
Banding only applies to ADSL2+

OK, so rather than tell us what it's NOT, tell us what it IS (or could be), i.e. what's your explanation of those "unusual" stats?
To quote the advert, "It's not a Speckled Hen" but that doesn't really take us forwards......  Wink
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,455
Thanks: 794
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

Having the current bandwidth and maximum bandwidth equal is nothing unusual. It means the current noise margin is equal to the target noise margin.
David
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Slow - No apparent reason

@ HPsauce,
I had a look at the time and advised the OP to raise a fault. I will normally deal with things if I spot something I can help with but in this case my best advice was to raise the fault.
Jojo Smiley