cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow FTTC

Ratbert
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: 31-12-2012

Slow FTTC

Today I had my adsl2 connection replaced with a fttc install, I know the cabinet is still a long distance away however fttc has been a huge disappointment.
This morning I had adsl2, 48.5 dB attenuation with a 4.8Mb/0.9 sync speed on the evil talktalk.
After install I now have 5Mb download, 0.5 upload. I could have gotten 5Mb on adsl if I rebooted during the day.
I know it's the training period, but the estimate was 10/1 and the line was pretty decent at adsl considering it's length. The cabinet is still around 1 mile away,
I guess my question is this: Is it going to get any better? Or do I just get to pay fttc prices for slightly worse than my old adsl connection?
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow FTTC

Two things
Post the result from the BT speedtest - diagnostic version and Current Line Speed from https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: Slow FTTC

Run the BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test:
http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
You will probably see the same poor speeds at this stage.
At the end of the test, click Further Diagnostics. After those tests run, you will be given a page which shows your IP profile. What is shown for that?
Edit: Somehow managed to double-post with OldJim in spite of the page timing out when posting.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow FTTC

Don't worry - the forum is really being a pain in the butt today when posting images
Ratbert
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: 31-12-2012

Re: Slow FTTC

Thanks for the help,
Current line speed can't be accurate sadly, as it's still a good 1600m to the cabinet
Estimated line speed:
10Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2012-12-18 20:12:15
Current line speed:
37 Mb
speedtest:
Download: 5.32Mb
Upload: 0.58Mb
Further diagnostics:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 5.32 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 3.58 Mbps-0 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 5.11 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.58Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 2 Mbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow FTTC

Oh [censored] unless something is badly adrift you shouldn't even be on Fibre although with that distance to the Cab I still wonder if there isn't a problem
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/news/4488-bt-reduce-minimum-fttc-speed-and-reveal-fttp-will-not-replac... Tells me that you have been provisioned on 40/2 because of the estimated speeds
Ratbert
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: 31-12-2012

Re: Slow FTTC

Quote from: Oldjim
Oh [censored] unless something is badly adrift you shouldn't even be on Fibre although with that distance to the Cab I still wonder if there isn't a problem

I had hoped as the line was actually reasonable, 4Mb stable at 5.5km , that cutting the distance in half would get me something approaching previous generation broadband, 10Mb would still be 2.5 times faster!
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Slow FTTC

If your estimate of length is correct you should indeed get nearer 15Mb so I would definitely raise a fault
Ratbert
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: 31-12-2012

Re: Slow FTTC

Well now i've reconnected in the evening, it's not even had the decency to be *slightly* faster.
4.5Mb down (exactly the same as adsl)
0.6Mb up (300k less).
Welcome to the future!
It sucks
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,859
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 35
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Slow FTTC

Sorry to see you've been having problems with this.
I can see you've raised a fault online, if this is still an issue please go back and complete the questions at http://faults.plus.net
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Ratbert
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: 31-12-2012

Re: Slow FTTC

Is it worth completing the fault, or do I need to wait for the 10 day training period to end first?
adie:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,550
Thanks: 795
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Slow FTTC

There isn't a 10 day training period on fibre - it's a common myth.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Ratbert
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: 31-12-2012

Re: Slow FTTC

Ok, so I got hold of an unlocked HG612 because the new revision ECI is really difficult to do anything with (got to serial login, but unable to send characters).
The bad news: Speed is appalling!
Good new: Graphs!
Does this mean anything to anyone? Sadly I'm only just getting started with vdsl.
stats attached
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: Slow FTTC

Did Openreach give you an ECI rather than Huawei modem initially?
Ratbert
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: 31-12-2012

Re: Slow FTTC

Yes, the ECI is what has been supplied. While it is better than the HG612 it doesn't give me any status. I wanted to find out if I should just give up and go back to adsl or go through the pain of being told there is nothing wrong with the line again.