cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

tension83
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 28-10-2013

Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

My FTP upload speeds never seem to go over 600k. I have fibre, and I know my lime is capable of much more. The remote user has a speed of 8Mb, so the only thing I can think is you must be throttling me.
I thought PlusNet didn't throttle, just prioritised?
Please help.
(The FTP server is on a Dell server with 2 x quad-core CPUs and 24GB of ram so the hardware definitely isn't the issue here)
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

Plusnet do not do any prioritising or throttling on uploads (in any case it's not possible as by the time it reaches their system it's too late!).
Are you sure you have your units (bits (b) and bytes (B)) correct? Connection speeds are always in bits and software tends to report speeds in bytes. 600KBps = 4800Kbps which wouldn't be far off if the remote user is on an 8Mbps connection.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

Plusnet don't prioritise or throttle uploads other than that I have no idea why it is so slow
What ftp client are you using and is your anti virus live scanning the upload
tension83
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

I am using Filezilla and the uploads are not being scanned by my antivirus software. I'm only getting slow speeds on the WAN side so if it isn't being throttled then I'm stumped to be honest.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

I assume that you have checked the upload speed limit in Filezilla
Another thing you could try - disable the firewall in the router
tension83
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

Yes it is set to '0' ie no limit
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

Can you confirm the units please. Are you getting 600KBps or 600Kbps?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
tension83
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

600KBps
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

I'm with @Jelv on this, that seems perfectly reasonable given the speed at the other end and the "usual overheads".  Cool
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Sloooooooow FTP uploads.... Why am I being throttled??

Quote from: tension83
600KBps

If you are expecting a lot faster than 4800Kbps upload (which is what you are getting) I'm assuming that you must be on fibre - is that correct? Also if the remote end is on only 8Mbps (I assume that is sync speed) there is very, very little scope for faster speed even if you are on fibre.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)