cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slight mystery on sync speed - any thoughts or comments anyone?

HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

Slight mystery on sync speed - any thoughts or comments anyone?

Hello there,
First thing to say is I'm new to PN (2 days) but definitely NOT new to Broadband, IT & comms.
I've been on Max for about 3 months and moved to PN due to service issues at Tiscali.
My router (Netgear DG834GT) synchronised happily at 8128/448 all the time I was with Tiscali and my IP profile was 7150kbps, so when it worked properly (very rarely due to Tiscali issues re DataStream) it was fast.
When I switched to PN my router sync'ed at 7616/448 with an IP profile set at 6500. Not bad you may say, but hey I'm a perfectionist! A "passing comment" post I made (in another thread) did get commented on briefly by one of the PN staff to say something like there may have been a minor glitch at the time of the switch (2am Monday).

Since then I've restarted my router a couple of times (once after about an hour off) and it's the same. I've looked at the online help etc here and it doesn't (as far as I can see) explain too much about the process of how sync speeds change over time.
So is there anything I can do to affect this, or will it sort itself out "eventually"?
As a footnote, I have the DMT tool which I know can (though I haven't yet tried) be used to "tweak" the SNRM. Mine is currently 9.7dB and that's at the low end of what I see, it's usually over 10 and the section that shows errors is usually totally clean.
Could it be that BT have changed my SNRM settings from 6dB to 9dB (for whatever reason, maybe a good one) and that's it now?
Any thoughts or comments welcome.
5 REPLIES 5
James
Grafter

Re: Slight mystery on sync speed - any thoughts or comments anyone?

Hiya,
Your line has interleaving on.  I'll get it removed and I reckon you'll see the full 8128Kbps tomorrow.
HPsauce
Pro

OK thanks very much James.