cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Skype Plusnet

bejaouizied
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-11-2007

Skype Plusnet

Hi i am in plusnet and i want to use skype bur the communication is so bad i dont know what is the problem?
My connection is so unstabe!!
11 REPLIES
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,757
Thanks: 232
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

I'm not sure that PlusNet will reliably detect Skype as VOIP traffic. Skype uses a proprietary protocol of it's own, while PlusNet (and many other providers) use the sip protocol.
Do a linespeed test and get typical ping times.
Are you using a wifi network?
Are you using a router?
Raise a ticket with PlusNet about this.
cp:blue Full quote of preceding post removed, come on axis you know better. mod:end

James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

Hi,
Is in only Skype that you are having problems with?
I've had a look at your account and you've been connected for 14 days continually and there doesn't appear to be any issues with your speed profiling.
bejaouizied
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-11-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

Sorry fot the delay i was sick Embarrassed
I do test speed frequently, and to be honest o have never found more than 4MB as a bandwich speed, this is why my downloads speed is between 20 and 150, using HTTP downloads, not even peer to peer.
I have tried msn messenger to make voice calls and i have the same problem?Huh
bejaouizied
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-11-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

Sorry for the belay i was so sick Lips are sealed
I have done several bandwich test using different websites as miradsl and to be honest the maximum speed i have reached is 4MB, i am living in London.
I have tried either msn messenger tp ùake voice calls and the same prblem happened.

bejaouizied
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-11-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

Quote from: axisofevil
Quote from: bejaouizied
Hi i am in plusnet and i want to use skype bur the communication is so bad i dont know what is the problem?
My connection is so unstabe!!

I'm not sure that PlusNet will reliably detect Skype as VOIP traffic. Skype uses a proprietary protocol of it's own, while PlusNet (and many other providers) use the sip protocol.
Do a linespeed test and get typical ping times.
Are you using a wifi network?
Are you using a router?
Raise a ticket with PlusNet about this.

I am using a wifi router.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,757
Thanks: 232
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

You do not need a huge line speed to get good VOIP - 4Mbps is more than ample. What you absolutely do need is a reliable connection that does not send corrupt packets or delays packets. Probably the most important factor is your ping time to your destination.
If your wifi is not giving you a good/fast connection, then all bets are off!
Are you using 54Mbps (actually it will be considerably less)?
Is the signal strength really good?
Try for a ping time to the router of around 1mS or better.

bejaouizied
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-11-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

I have tried to see the rliability of my connection.
These are the resultes:
Paquets sent 6724 with 21 errors
Paquets received 5325 where 538 errors
The number of errors is increasing?Huh
For the ping results:
4 sent 4 received without any lost.
Minimum: 2ms maximum 1521ms and average= 382 ms
bejaouizied
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-11-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

Plz can you tell me what's a channel and how can i change it
Thx
cp:blue Full quote of preceding post removed. mod:end
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,757
Thanks: 232
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

Before you change channel, what signal strength is your computer reporting?
Also what is the ping time to your router?
Channels is just the same as in TV channel - except that the channels are allowed to overlap! This means that the 11 channels (1-11) only give 3 distinct channels (1, 6, 11).
You have to do some router configuration to change the channel.
You do this to get the best signal strength and least interference from the neighbours gadgets.
If you are already getting a very good signal strength, this procedure is unlikely to help.

bejaouizied
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-11-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

Please see above the results of my router ping
The signal strengh is ok but the quality of the connection is poor
cp:blue Full quote of preceding posted removed, and case dropped on all CAPS post. mod:end
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Skype Plusnet

Moderators Note
Please can I ask the participants of this thread to take some time to read the Forum Rules.
If any further moderation action is required in this thread, we may find it easer to just lock the thread  Wink
Jonathan
aka Chilly