cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sites not loading

cbcadmin
Grafter
Posts: 187
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-02-2012

Sites not loading

Anyone have any speed issues with sites not loading?
One example for me atm is http://www.flickr.com
Left to load for several minutes: nothing. Reload, still just a progress bar. Go back to it after posting this and it loads fine.

Keef - Sheerness Kent UK - Plusnet via Technicolor TG582N

Previously - Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Plusnet, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7

===========
15 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,017
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 48
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Sites not loading

Hi Keeef,
We're not aware of any issues that might be causing this for you.
Is it just certain sites or all?
If it's the latter I'd run a speedtest to see if that highlights an issue: http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Listicath
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 11-02-2016

Re: Sites not loading

I'm also having problems, but with http://www.bsfa.co.uk just not appearing at all.
Both http://isitdown.co.uk/www.bsfa.co.uk and http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.bsfa.co.uk/ report that it's working...
davidfriedlande
Grafter
Posts: 80
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: Sites not loading

im also having problems with sites not loading, bbc for example
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,062
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Sites not loading

Quote from: Listicath
I'm also having problems, but with http://www.bsfa.co.uk just not appearing at all.

This seems to be a DNS problem, the Plusnet DNS servers aren't resolving the IP address of bsfa.co.uk, and are returning SERVFAIL responses instead.
You may be able to work around the issue by changing the DNS servers used by your computer or router, to Google DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 or OpenDNS 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,350
Thanks: 205
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Sites not loading

The sites above work for me, but then I am using a Home Hub 5 with BT's DNS
Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 324
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 28-07-2013

Re: Sites not loading

Sites working for me too. I'm using the Belkin 150 router (yep, I know, it's a bit cr*p), but it seems to be doing the job. Also I'm using PN's DNS so no issues so far.
Listicath
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 11-02-2016

Re: Sites not loading

Switched to Open DNS and it's connecting without any problems now. Thanks all.
cbcadmin
Grafter
Posts: 187
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-02-2012

Re: Sites not loading

Any update on this please?
Another example this morning :-
https://m.mg.mail.yahoo.com/
Keef - Sheerness Kent UK - Plusnet via Technicolor TG582N

Previously - Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Plusnet, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7

===========
marcusk
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-03-2013

Re: Sites not loading

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
Hi Keeef,
We're not aware of any issues that might be causing this for you.


If switching to an open DNS and having that resolve the issue isn't an indication that there is an issue with Plusnest's default DNS servers I don't know what is..?
More than a few posts on this topic now also with more than a few people having the same issue, and thats just the ones that make their way into the forum, i'll bet most don't.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,062
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Sites not loading

I've not noticed any further specific problems with the Plusnet DNS servers, and bsfa.co.uk has started working with Plusnet DNS now.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,103
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Sites not loading

Would be helpful to get some of the info here if problems persist.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

JJ
Grafter
Posts: 229
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Sites not loading

having same problems. Changed DNS servers to google ones and it now works !!
John
JJ
Grafter
Posts: 229
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Sites not loading

Should add it wasn't all sites. What was strange it was the sites I use the most. I would swear they were taking longer to connect each time I accessed them.
John
pauljeffer
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 15-02-2016

Re: Sites not loading

btw running the bt wholesale speed test I get
Download Speed (Mbps) : 0.00
Upload Speed (Mbps) : 15.30
Ping Latency (ms) : 27.38