cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

wyerd
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 14-05-2009

Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

According to SamKnows, I am 1.46km from the exchange and the BTW performance test results come back with the following:-

Could the IP profile for my line be increased from the current 11.68Mbps to increase my download speed closer to the 21Mbps maximum achievable? My router is a Draytek Vigor 2820 ADSL 2+
Thanks.
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,423
Thanks: 1,008
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

If you could post the actual stats from your router - noise margin, speeds and attenuation we may be able to comment
wyerd
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 14-05-2009

Re: Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

Does this help? :-

Thanks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,423
Thanks: 1,008
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

The quick answer is that your line is performing as expected and the calculated line length is about 2.8km
If the system dropped your default noise margin to 3dB then you may get a small increase but that depends on the automatic system accepting that your line is sufficiently stable with not too many errors
Your IP profile is correct for your sync speed
wyerd
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 14-05-2009

Re: Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

OK, thanks. So according to this graph, I've reached the max for my line then?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,423
Thanks: 1,008
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

This is better as it includes the attenuation
wyerd
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 14-05-2009

Re: Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

So this is why FTTC comes in then? Fat chance of that happening any time soon here in Liss!
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,423
Thanks: 1,008
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

I sympathise - my exchange is fibre enabled but my cab isn't and won't be - and I can't get much over 4Mb
wyerd
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 14-05-2009

Re: Should I expect better ADSL 2 performance?

That's the problem living in remote areas, OpenReach isn't interested in upgrading the infrastructure.