cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up old TalkTalk router to work with PlusNet?

PlusOne
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 24-07-2015

Setting up old TalkTalk router to work with PlusNet?

Hello,
I am about to join from TalkTalk and am keeping my router, which I read elsewhere is supposed to work on PLusnet as well.
Just to be safe though, I wanted to ask how I need to configure it to work with PlusNet when its live.
The router model is a D-LINK DSL-3780
Firmware version 1.05t (presumably TalkTalk)
Hardware version B1
Many thanks in advance for any advice you can offer
5 REPLIES
kensfishbar
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 28-06-2015

Re: Setting up old TalkTalk router to work with PlusNet?

I moved from talktalk to plusnet 2 months ago.  I chose to pay for the postage of the new plusnet router because I wanted to make sure the line was working rather than blaming the old equipment when things did not work.    I managed to set up the talktalk d-link 2640R and my own zyxel H660 routers as a back up.  I remember I just change the username and password, the primary and secondary DNS  setting.
PlusOne
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 24-07-2015

Re: Setting up old TalkTalk router to work with PlusNet?

Which is the primary and secondary DNS setting for PlusNet?
kensfishbar
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 28-06-2015

Re: Setting up old TalkTalk router to work with PlusNet?

kensfishbar
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 28-06-2015

Re: Setting up old TalkTalk router to work with PlusNet?

in case you can't see it if you are not a plus net customer.
Broadband and Dial-up DNS
Primary 212.159.13.49
Secondary 212.159.13.50
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 538
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Setting up old TalkTalk router to work with PlusNet?

You should be ok to leave the DNS to automatically request too.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff