cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up a home network (if that's what I mean)...

BertCoules
Grafter

Setting up a home network (if that's what I mean)...

My main PC (running Windows 7 Home Premium) has internet access via the PlusNet-supplied TG 585v7 wireless router.  I have a second PC (running XP Pro).  I've been wondering about the possible advantages of linking them together - a lot of my standard software only runs on the XP machine, so for example if I want to edit a wav file which someone has emailed to me (or I've downloaded) I have to save it from the internet PC onto a flash drive and reload it onto the second computer. 
Would linking the PCs mean that this would no longer be necessary?  Could I, in effect, access the internet directly from PC number 2?  What other advantages would there be if I did link th two machines?  Sorry for the very basic questions, but I'm new to the whole idea of networks (and I'm not even sure if a network is what I'm talking about) and I've found it hard to run down truly basic advice online.
If anyone can point me towards a really straightforward words-of-one-syllable article on the subject I'd be extremely grateful.
Many thanks.
17 REPLIES 17
SteveA
Pro
Fixes: 3

Re: Setting up a home network (if that's what I mean)...

Connect both PCs to the router - either through cables or set up their wireless connections. Both machines can then access the internet and can see each other on the network.
Then enable windows file sharing on both machines and off you go.
Not got any urls to hand as I'm running Linux but that is basically all there is to it.
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 10

You need to make sure that:
* where you specify the name of the PC you have exactly the same workgroup name on both machines
* you have the same usernames and passwords on both machines
* in the Local Area Connection Properties you have File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks enabled
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)