cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sageguard doesn't seem to blocking individual sites for me.

trauntrian
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-06-2017

Sageguard doesn't seem to blocking individual sites for me.

I switched Safeguard on as my children browse on their tablets. They generally stick to children's sites and hadn't veered into anything "adult" yet but I thought I'd be prepared.

It blocks pornography very well, I couldn't get any knowing what to search for so I'm sure they are safe.

Then I saw they had followed a link from a kids site to a video on Youtube, and from there, they were clicking the similar videos list and although there was no porn, it did have some stuff there I didn't particularly want them watching.

So I decided I very rarely used youtube, so it was no loss to block them from it until they are a little bit more mature. I went to the blocked sites and added youtube into there. I added youtube.comat first but noticed it had not had any effect. So I added a couple of different versions.

youtube.com

m.youtube.com

www.youtube.com

but youtube is still readily available from every device in the house. Am I missing some step I need to do?

 

5 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Sageguard doesn't seem to blocking individual sites for me.

Hi there,

 

Sorry to hear Safeguard isn't blocking YouTube. I've raised a ticket to our products team to investigate this for you. We'll provide an update here within 7 days. Apologies for the delay.

 

Let us know if there's anything else we can help with.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
trauntrian
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-06-2017

Re: Sageguard doesn't seem to blocking individual sites for me.

Thanks. As a little bit of extra information - it doesn't seem to just be this site, any site I add to blocked sites does not seem to have an effect.
The "Blocked Categories" works fine, just not "Blocked Sites"
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,640
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Sageguard doesn't seem to blocking individual sites for me.

Hi there, when you've made the changes to Safeguard are you rebooting the router as it does need to disconnect/reconnect to take effect.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
trauntrian
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-06-2017

Re: Sageguard doesn't seem to blocking individual sites for me.

Yes I have reset the router

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,640
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Sageguard doesn't seem to blocking individual sites for me.

Thanks for getting back to me. In some rare instances there is an issue where Safeguard may not save individual sites correctly, this is being looked in to but I'm afraid I can't provide a timeline.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff