cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR rest

pajor
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 12-03-2012

SNR rest

Hi, Openreach have been working on the telegraph pole my downline comes since then my noise margin has risen. Could you please reset my SNR to 6db.  I have tried test socket will the same results. Downstream was previously 3.424 mbps or above this has put my connection from 3mb+ down to 2.5, does not sound like much but it makes a difference on a slow connection.

Connection Information

ADSL Line Status
Connection Information
Line state: Connected
Connection time: 0 days, 11:45:14
Downstream: 3.344 Mbps
Upstream: 448 Kbps

ADSL Settings
VPI/VCI: 0/38
Type: PPPoA
Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
Latency type: Interleaved
Noise margin (Down/Up): 11.3 dB / 22.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up): 41.4 dB / 26.5 dB
Output power (Down/Up): 18.5 dBm / 12.3 dBm
FEC Events (Down/Up): 30608768 / 858
CRC Events (Down/Up): 135664 / 848
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
HEC Events (Down/Up): 325161 / 857
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 95504 / 5355
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: SNR rest

Can you post the actual results from the test socket and confirm that when using the test socket that no other sockets in the house are live.
I ask this because from your reported attenuation you should be getting much higher speeds and your reported errors are far too high for the short connection time
pajor
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 12-03-2012

Re: SNR rest

ADSL Line Status
Connection Information
Line state: Connected
Connection time: 0 days, 00:00:40
Downstream: 3.219 Mbps
Upstream: 448 Kbps

ADSL Settings
VPI/VCI: 0/38
Type: PPPoA
Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
Latency type: Interleaved
Noise margin (Down/Up): 15.4 dB / 21.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up): 41.6 dB / 26.5 dB
Output power (Down/Up): 18.5 dBm / 12.2 dBm
FEC Events (Down/Up): 0 / 0
CRC Events (Down/Up): 1 / 0
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
HEC Events (Down/Up): 0 / 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
pajor
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 12-03-2012

Re: SNR rest

no other sockets in use, router direct into test socket
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: SNR rest

That explains part of the problem - your default noise margin is now 15dB
Although you say that non of the other sockets are in use do you get a dial tone when you plug a phone into them via a filter
Can you leave the router in the test socket until tomorrow without disconnecting and report the stats again - I want to see what happens to the reported errors
pajor
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 12-03-2012

Re: SNR rest

i have a filtered master faceplate, no other filters are used. phone extension runs from back of faceplate,
so while i have router in test socket none of the phones have a dial tone
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: SNR rest

excellent - so now let us try to find out why you are having speed problems and errors
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: SNR rest

Is there any noise on the line when you use the phone? (You can test using the quiet line test dial 17070 and pick option 2)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
pajor
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 12-03-2012

Re: SNR rest

no noise on phone line will try 17070 tomorrow as router is still in test socket
clanla
Grafter
Posts: 113
Thanks: 3
Registered: 04-10-2012

Re: SNR rest

pajor, I am a little confused by your last comment as it seems to suggest that you cannot use the phone when the router is in the test socket.  When you use the test socket, which is behind the front plate, you must still plug in a filter and you can then plug the router and a phone into the filter.  Probably I just misunderstand what you meant.
pajor
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 12-03-2012

Re: SNR rest

Quiet line test was okay slight buzz but nothing really. Had a resync last night, errors are down noise margin now 16db
ADSL Line Status
Connection Information
Line state: Connected
Connection time: 0 days, 14:02:27
Downstream: 2.688 Mbps
Upstream: 448 Kbps

ADSL Settings
VPI/VCI: 0/38
Type: PPPoA
Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
Latency type: Interleaved
Noise margin (Down/Up): 16.3 dB / 22.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up): 41.7 dB / 27.0 dB
Output power (Down/Up): 18.6 dBm / 12.3 dBm
FEC Events (Down/Up): 165295 / 6
CRC Events (Down/Up): 296 / 4
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
HEC Events (Down/Up): 2152 / 4
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 47 / 23
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: SNR rest

You shouldn't have a slight buzz
Can you post the latest stats to see what has happened since the last lot.
Also was there anything happening when the router resynched such as the phone ringing
pajor
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 12-03-2012

Re: SNR rest

Hi m8 nothing happened during sync

Connection Information
Line state: Connected
Connection time: 0 days, 13:05:01
Downstream: 2.75 Mbps
Upstream: 448 Kbps

ADSL Settings
VPI/VCI: 0/38
Type: PPPoA
Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
Latency type: Interleaved
Noise margin (Down/Up): 16.9 dB / 22.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up): 41.6 dB / 26.5 dB
Output power (Down/Up): 18.5 dBm / 12.3 dBm
FEC Events (Down/Up): 2242021 / 11
CRC Events (Down/Up): 745 / 3
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
HEC Events (Down/Up): 4727 / 12
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 196 / 15
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: SNR rest

That is twice it has resynched at about the same time so something is screwing up your connection.
Which router do you have
pajor
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 12-03-2012

Re: SNR rest

Router is Bt hub 3
Just done another quiet line test and there was static, not enough to really notice when talking on the phone