cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR reset please

scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 23-03-2013

SNR reset please

hi can you reset my line please, my download speeds have dropped from 17mb to just over 3mb, also can you confirm theres no cap as it seems a little sluggish in the evenings of late,its fine in the day, might be just me tho.
25 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,388
Thanks: 240
Fixes: 67
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: SNR reset please

Hi there,
Looking at how the connection's performing we'd rather hold back on an SNR reset as your connectivity over the last week looks like this:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image136542301746.png"/>
Have you been turning the router off when not in use?
If so I fear that's led to problems with a very high SNR. In that situation an SNR reset would only work as a bit of a "sticking plaster" solution.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 23-03-2013

Re: SNR reset please

yes i was told by chris (see below)to log into my router, and click disconnect, rather than just turning the router off, as this would solve the exchange thinking it was a dissconection issue and hence lowering download speed thinking its a fault
the sat and sunday i have noticed that connections were made,(i was away for the weekend) i have since found out it was my sister going on pc, so i guess she turned router off, i have since explained this to her not to just turn off and rather log into my router to click disconnect
it appears this is the reason it as gone down to 3mb, as it was fine in the week,
can you confirm when the SNR reset is completed, thanks
Quote from: chrispurvey
Hi,
I've placed a SNR reset on your line, this will take around four hours to complete, when you're turning your connection off, could you do this by logging into your router and clicking disconnect and when you need to connect login and click connect to try and prevent the DLM from changing your profile?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,388
Thanks: 240
Fixes: 67
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: SNR reset please

I'll be honest I'm not sure that's right.
In that case I'm going to seek a definitive answer before getting back to you.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 23-03-2013

Re: SNR reset please

since i requested the SNR with chris,my speed went back up to normal over 15-17mb, it was only 2day i noticed the slow down to 3mb, it was fine up until friday with good download speeds , i can only assume since the weekend since my sis went on, n just turned pc off without going into my router as caused the problem again
the logging into router and clicking disconnect trick worked a treat, as i had no probs since (until sat of course with sis going on pc and not realising to log into router to disconect)
so would be grateful a SNR reset asap please to get my download speeds back to norm, thank you
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,388
Thanks: 240
Fixes: 67
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: SNR reset please

OK,
I've just clarified this for you. It's not just a case of an SNR reset being required, I really do fear that there's a mass misconception about how SNR resets work and when they're appropriate so I'm going to write a post and ask for it to be stickied.
In this case we need to raise an order to change the stability setting for your line, add interleaving and make sure no banding is applied (as per what you've experienced).
That will complete tomorrow, after that we'll submit an SNR reset. Following that the disconnections shouldn't affect DLM at all.
I've clarified that with Chris too and given him some feedback about that for future reference.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 23-03-2013

Re: SNR reset please

please note i want interleaving remained turned off, can you confirm that this will be the case, as i do not wish for it to be turned on
the only thing i requested was for a SNR reset to get my download speeds back up to around 17mb, as mentioned above when the SNR reset was done i had no problems whatsoever with download speeds, it was only the over the weekend that caused the probs as explained above,
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,388
Thanks: 240
Fixes: 67
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: SNR reset please

OK I can leave interleaving off. But please bear in mind an SNR reset alone rarely fixes any issues it really depends on certain aspects of the line as to how DLM will react.
I'l get the order raised now for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 23-03-2013

Re: SNR reset please

thank you
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 23-03-2013

Re: SNR reset please

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
OK I can leave interleaving off. But please bear in mind an SNR reset alone rarely fixes any issues it really depends on certain aspects of the line as to how DLM will react.
I'l get the order raised now for you.


hi just wondered if the SNR reset as been ordered yet please,as my speeds are still only around 3mb
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2633857561.png
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,388
Thanks: 240
Fixes: 67
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: SNR reset please

Not just yet, we need the order I placed yesterday to complete fist, no point submitting one until it has. I'll check the order again tomorrow for you and will reply back when the reset has been done.

UPDATE:
I've just checked and the order has completed so I've submitted the SNR reset now.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 23-03-2013

Re: SNR reset please

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_

That will complete tomorrow, after that we'll submit an SNR reset. Following that the disconnections shouldn't affect DLM at all.


thanks adam,
so can you confirm that it is safe to turn off router when not in use, or is it better to just continue to log into router n click disconnect? or doesnt it matter now that the test you mentioned above as now solved the issue and wont affect DLM should i turn off or disconect by logging in router?
will do a test to see if download speeds increase later on.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: SNR reset please

@scoobydoo1 - why are you so keen to keep switching the router off ?.
Just leave it switched on permanently (except perhaps during thunderstorms !) and especially if your line is in re-training after another SNR reset.
Many people on this forum use uninterruptible power supplies with their routers, so that their broadband doesn't suffer speed drops due to occasional short mains power breaks.
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 23-03-2013

Re: SNR reset please

i see no need for it to be on when not in use,  it saves that bit of electric, yes i know its small, but every penny counts esp with rising elec costs etc,
and as adam said disconections shouldnt affect DLM after the test they run yesterday
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: SNR reset please

I'm not arguing about how it *should* work.
You already know that 'your sister' apparently caused a massive speed drop by (from the connection charts) only switching off once or twice a day.
If your line is THAT sensitive, then you need to leave it switched on, otherwise you will be back again pleading for another reset.
Doing a disconnect before power down is advised, but in practice is not a solution when your line drops like yours.