cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR reset, please.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

SNR reset, please.

Compliments of the Season to all Cool
Long story short - issues with the HH4 I have been using caused me to put my HH3 back on. This unfortunately got me a 9dB DS target noise margin, a large number of errors, and interleaving on. When using the HH4, on fast path and with 6dB target, it was pretty stable.
Last week I took delivery of and installed a HH5 - connection has stayed up all weekend, albeit at the slightly lower rate, and I assume the same 9dB SNR. (No stats of that nature from this router).
Can I have the SNR reset to 6dB and interleaving off, please?
Pretty please, with sugar on top?
14 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 183
Thanks: 43
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎29-04-2013

Re: SNR reset, please.

Hi,
Best Wishes to you for the Season too.
I've picked this up and performed the SNR reset on your line. I checked that the service was not ordered with Interleaving enabled and have completed the reset today.
Your line should be "not interleaved" and a 6db target for the SNR within the next hour.
Please bear in mind that the line now undergoes a new training period and we're unable to reset your line again until after 1st January.
Kind Regards,
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

Thanks Steve. I'll check it out when I get home in the morning.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

Cry Looks like I should have checked the weather forecast before asking for this...
I've had a few disconnections overnight since the SNR reset was done - it's very stormy here with high wind and rain, and my line goes through trees on the way to the PCP. I'm still on FastPath, and ping to bbc.co.uk is 30ms, so that's OK...
[tt]Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
(c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\Brian>ping bbc.co.uk
Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.251.195] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.251.195: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=117
Reply from 212.58.251.195: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=117
Reply from 212.58.251.195: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=117
Reply from 212.58.251.195: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=117
Ping statistics for 212.58.251.195:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 30ms, Average = 29ms[/tt]
Bandwidth: 1112 / 13392
I've done a line test on bt.com, with no fault found, so I guess I'll just have to keep an eye on things when the wind (hopefully) drops...
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,286
Thanks: 612
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: SNR reset, please.

Got my fingers crossed....
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

Well, it has stayed up since it disconnected when I did the line test this morning, so fingers crossed as you say. Cool
Still very windy here, and we have snow forecast, so not looking forward to the journey to work tonight, or the journey home in the morning, which is likely to be much worse.
Nevertheless, we have power and no flooding, unlike some people, so we count our blessings...
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

I lost connection twice either side of 1:30am this morning, and I'm now connecting much faster:
Bandwidth: 1091 / 14836
BTW speedtest shows "IP Profile for your line is - 13.09 Mbps" and in the Member Centre, "Current line speed: 13 Mb"
Ping is now 26ms:
[tt]C:\Users\Brian>ping bbc.co.uk
Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.253.67] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.253.67: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=119
Reply from 212.58.253.67: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=119
Reply from 212.58.253.67: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=119
Reply from 212.58.253.67: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=119
Ping statistics for 212.58.253.67:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 26ms, Maximum = 26ms, Average = 26ms[/tt]
So far, so good...  Cool
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

Merde! Just had another disconnect, and...
Bandwidth: 1099 / 13508
That's what I get for boasting...
Cry
I know this is the DLM strutting its stuff, so fingers crossed once again, although it makes it very difficult to type...
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

OK, so 2 weeks since the last post, and the connection has been up and down like a lift, although it's usually only disconnected for a couple of minutes. The router log reports most of the disconnections as "PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]". I certainly am not requesting these...
It also seems to connect at different rates each time, so the IP profile and the Current Line Speed are invariably different, as the CLS fails to keep up with the synch changes each time I lose connection.
The router has upgraded itself to the latest firmware but that's made no difference to the drops - I think the Fast Path experiment should draw to a close, so can I ask the DCT for
a) A RADIUS diagram for the last month
and
b) A request to turn interleaving back on to see if my line will stabilise
TIA,
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

I know it's busy (and bumping is against the rules) but I am still on Fast Path 5 days later and I still have 2-3 disconnections daily.
Any chance of Interleaving On and a RADIUS graph to confirm the disconnections?
Pretty please, with sugar on top?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: SNR reset, please.

Hi Jaggies,
Sorry for the delay in coming back to you. I've requested an SNR reset to get interleaving on for you (quicker than placing an order for tomorrow), hope it stabilises things - and here's the connectivity graph, suffice to say I can see why you'd rather have interleaving on Smiley
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13897017881740.png"/>

Hope that helps.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

Cheers, Matt.
A couple of minutes after your post it reconnected, and again just short of 3 hours later. The connection speed is the highest I've seen for ages, and I just need to monitor it for stability to ensure Interleaving is doing its magic.
[tt]12:19:33, 14 Jan. (732829.260000) ETHoA is down after 113 minutes uptime
12:20:33, 14 Jan. (732888.930000) PPPoA is up -​ VPI: 0, VCI:38
15:17:27, 14 Jan. (743503.120000) ETHoA is down after 176 minutes uptime
15:18:47, 14 Jan. (743582.610000) PPPoA is up -​ VPI: 0, VCI:38
5. ADSL uptime: 0 days, 01:59:08
6. Bandwidth: 1048 / 15025
53. Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
54. Latency type: Interleaved[/tt]
I'll report back and if connection continues to drop I'll probably have to raise a fault, although the drops are generally so brief I only notice them if I'm streaming at the time.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

Looks like (almost!) everything is working as expected, with just the one exception...
[tt]ADSL uptime: 2 days, 18:38:33
Bandwidth: 1048 / 15025[/tt]
[tt]Download speed achieved during the test was - 12.34 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 13.25 Mbps[/tt]
[tt]Current line speed: 12.9 Mb[/tt]
So, it's definitely stabilised, as prior to the reset I would have had 10-12 disconnections in this period (yay!). However, the Current Line Speed has lagged behind - any chance of a nudge on that front, please?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,286
Thanks: 612
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: SNR reset, please.

Changed you to 13200.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: SNR reset, please.

Cheers!
Still connected  Cool