cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR is 3.0dB !? Frequent disconnections in the evenings too.

phile
Grafter

SNR is 3.0dB !? Frequent disconnections in the evenings too.

Just moved house. Broadband followed me faithfully (nice job, PlusNet) but the new line seems to be acting up a bit with frequent connection drop-outs in the evening.
I notice from my router stats that the SNR drops to 2.5-3.0dB in the evenings, from about 5dB during the day.
I'm no expert, but 3dB seems very low... can anyone (esp. from PlusNet) tell me if this might be the cause of my flaky evening broadband? If it is, what can I do about it? (I've already tried all the usual stuff - plugging directly into the master socket, swapping microfilters, removing all other equipment from the line and so on).
If it's any help, here are my router stats about ten minutes after retraining the connection and then starting to download Mad Men on the BBC iPlayer - those upstream line error counts look suspiciously high...
Protocol  ADSL State      Showtime  
          Data Path      Interleave 
          Operation Mode  G.DMT 

Downstream  Upstream 
Line Status  ADSL Link Speed  4512kbps    448kbps 
            SNR              3.0 dB      - 
            ATEN            42dB        25dB 
Line Error  ADSL layer  FEC  2            42630 
                        CRC  0            25755 
            ATM layer  HEC  3            22660 

Thanks! Phil
31 REPLIES 31
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: SNR is 3.0dB !? Frequent disconnections in the evenings too.

Resync in the evening and then leave the router on permanently
This will drop your speed to about 4200kbps and your profile to 3500 kbps
Having said that you should be getting much better speeds with that attenuation
Can you plug the router into the test socket and report the stats immediately after (I suggest waiting until tomorrow morning to do it for a proper comparison)
phile
Grafter

Thanks for the quick response Oldjim.