cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR Reset

grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎06-12-2012

SNR Reset

Hi
Download SN Margin has risen to 11.9 from around 6 after I disconnected the modem yesterday, so please perform an SNR reset.
Thanks
jim:red All caps in title changed mod:end
42 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: SNR Reset

One disconnect wouldn't do that
Have you been doing a lot of fiddling and several disconnects in a short time
If you haven't then a reason needs to be found otherwise it is unlikely that Plusnet will agree to do it specially if you had one a month two months ago http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,109803.msg960139.html#msg960139
I suspect that your problem (from the linked thread) has come back
Edit - I got the time wrong
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎06-12-2012

Re: SNR Reset

A lot of fiddling??  I disconnected once through the modem for the first time in ages due to having to tidy up the wiring to the modem.
The last time I had the SN margin go up which was a couple of months ago PN performed a re-set which returned things to normal (requested through this forum).
Please try not to be condescending Oldjim.
Thanks
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,926
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Since one disconnect shouldn't cause the target SNRM to increase are you able to explain what did cause it? An excessive error rate on the line is often behind this.
David
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Hi there,
It does look like it's been caused by errors on the line, the quality is currently showing as Red (as opposed to amber or green) and the target SNR margin has indeed been raised to 12dB.
Resetting the SNR at this point would do more harm than good and would cause the line to retrain at a much lower speed. Is there anything that could be causing the errors? Router not in master socket, faulty filter, anything new added to the line?
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎06-12-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Hi Matt
It is connected to the master socket and nothing has been changed, it has all happened since I disconnected through the router to tidy the wiring up.
The line had been very stable and I'm sure before this it had stayed connected for twenty odd days.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Quote from: grahamholmes
The line had been very stable and I'm sure before this it had stayed connected for twenty odd days.

Was that after the wiring had been tidied? Just wondering if something unforseen could have happened while that was going on.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Matt, is there any indication whether the errors are primarily on the Upstream or the Downstream?
@grahamholmes
What "tidying up" exactly have you done to the wiring? - That obviously constitutes "a lot of fiddling" in Jim's book  Wink
Assuming things haven't changed - can you confirm you are on 20CN, using the 582n and could you check the firmware version?
Does your 582n have a USB port and if so, are you using it?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: SNR Reset

I'm afraid not, tried running a few tests but can't find anything that would explain why line quality has gone to red, let alone upstream or downstream.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Thanks for looking Matt.
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎06-12-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Sorted out the tangled wires for the power and phone line to the modem, and that's it (not much fiddling went on!)
I disconnected through the modem as I have done in the past.
The line seems stable now and I have had no disconnects for over 2 days.
20CN at exchange although 21CN is supposed to be coming soon any dates on this PN?
Router is TG582n
Software version 8.4.4.J
Not using a USB port
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: SNR Reset

Hi grahamholmes,
The estimated date at the moment is: 31/07/2013. This may be subject to change though.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Quote from: grahamholmes
The line seems stable now and I have had no disconnects for over 2 days.

If it's not disconnections it's going to be excessive errors. Could you post the errors counts (make sure you also give the connected time so we know how long they were over).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎06-12-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Uptime: 2 days, 13:03:54
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3.968
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 148,77 / 1,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,1 / 19,8
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30,5 / 46,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 21,0 / 12,0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 717 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 81 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 890 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 22.865
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2
HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 2 / 4
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: SNR Reset

That doesn't make sense - your errors aren't bad at all.
However there is one slightly worrying thing - the downstream attenuation is rather high compared to the downstream (normally the downstream is about half the upstream)
This may indicate a line fault or external interference but I am guessing here