cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR Reset

apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

SNR Reset

Please can I have an SNR reset?
Changing down router firmware seems to have cleared a fault, and my line has been very stable (except for some manual resets this morning)
20 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Hi,
That's been requested for you, give it around 4 hours Smiley
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Thanks Chris but nothing so far...?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

I've placed the order again as the previous one failed, it looks like this one has gone through.
Keep me updated.
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Please can someone give this another go for me today - the last two reset requests failed Sad
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Hi, looks like one took effect yesterday for you? From your line stats on the BT side we get our records from everything has definitely reset.
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

That's strange - I didn't get a resync (other than my manual resets yesterday for telnet tinkering) and my sync speeds and SNR figures haven't improved
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Just wondering if this is still an issue for you? I can see a few disconnections from the 31st I'm assuming that may have been you rebooting the router?
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Hi Adam,
Yes high SNR is still an issue unfortunately.
Everything on the 31st was me trying to block my freeloading neighbour from the network!
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: SNR Reset

I've just submitted another SNR reset, hopefully this one will work and push the noise margin back down for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Nothing so far Sad
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Sorry to hear that, I can't see any signs of an issue here so what speeds are you seeing at the moment?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

11Meg, which isn't awful but my line can do better!
I just can't understand why your SNR resets don't cause me to re-sync and have no effect on SNR reported by the router at my end...


DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 2 days, 19:26:40
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.032 / 11.066
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 1,99 / 1,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,1 / 20,9
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 11,3 / 24,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,9 / 11,9
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 4.255 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 3.928 / 5.547
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 2.650 / 27.954
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: SNR Reset

Anyone, please?
The member centre says my speed estimate is 17 meg but I'm only getting 11
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: SNR Reset

Could you repost the stats so we can see what's happened in the last 24 hours please.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)